The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Definition of "possession of the ball" (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53786-definition-possession-ball.html)

Centerfield9 Sun Jun 28, 2009 07:39pm

Definition of "possession of the ball"
 
BR hits a routine infield groundball, the fielder fields it and short-hops it to F3. The ball gets lodged between F3's body and elbow before BR touches first base. The play is too quick for F3 to grab the ball with his hand or glove, but the lodged ball can stay lodged for as long as F3 chooses. The ball is not being juggled. Does F3 have possession of the ball?

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 28, 2009 08:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Centerfield9 (Post 611207)
BR hits a routine infield groundball, the fielder fields it and short-hops it to F3. The ball gets lodged between F3's body and elbow before BR touches first base. The play is too quick for F3 to grab the ball with his hand or glove, but the lodged ball can stay lodged for as long as F3 chooses. The ball is not being juggled. Does F3 have possession of the ball?

No

DeputyUICHousto Tue Jun 30, 2009 06:07pm

No!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Centerfield9 (Post 611207)
BR hits a routine infield groundball, the fielder fields it and short-hops it to F3. The ball gets lodged between F3's body and elbow before BR touches first base. The play is too quick for F3 to grab the ball with his hand or glove, but the lodged ball can stay lodged for as long as F3 chooses. The ball is not being juggled. Does F3 have possession of the ball?

I don't have my "bible" but I believe it states the ball must be in the hand or glove.

txtrooper Tue Jun 30, 2009 07:12pm

No catch, must be securly held in the hand or glove. If the ball is merely held in the fielders arm(s) or prevented from dropping to the ground by some part of the fielders body, equipment or clothing, the catch is not completed until the ball is in the grasp of the fielder's hand(s) or glove.

Centerfield9 Wed Jul 01, 2009 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by txtrooper (Post 611678)
No catch, must be securly held in the hand or glove. If the ball is merely held in the fielders arm(s) or prevented from dropping to the ground by some part of the fielders body, equipment or clothing, the catch is not completed until the ball is in the grasp of the fielder's hand(s) or glove.

I couldn't find this in the rulebook. If you can point me to the right section, that would be most helpful.

txtrooper Wed Jul 01, 2009 08:08pm

Look in the definitions section of the 2009 ASA Rule book under catch/no catch (page 25).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1