![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
OK, I must be missing something. The post said TWO outs - you can't advance the runners due to the force and still call the batter out. That adds up to THREE outs by my math.
In my opinion, this is one of those situations when the players and coaches really are supposed to know the rules. The infield fly call mechanic is really just confirmation that (1) we are aware of the situation, and (2) that it's an "infield" fly vs. a ball too far past the basepaths for IF to apply. In this situation, the batter must know that IF does not apply with 2 outs; his coaches must know and yell at her/him to keep running. The God Rule does not provide for do-overs. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Quote:
No, that's our job. It'd be nice if they knew, but the reality is that a lot of people, even HUGE fans of the game, can't explain what the IFF rule is. Maybe I'm spending too much time in the trenches with rec-league softball that I consider it a luxury to have players understand basic rules, but that's just how I see it.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
|
My comments were directed toward the situation as posted which did NOT specify whether a play could have been made at 1B (or any other base). It seemed the situation was suggesting that BR stopped running when she heard "infield fly, batter is out".
Can't put BR on first if a play was made at any base - that's out number 3. So that's what I was referring to - what do we do if the IF call resulted in the BR not running? That's where my comments about the offense (and defense) need to know the situation came into play 'cause we can't say "I messed up, BR you get first" if the defense made an easy play because she stopped running at the call. Does that make more sense now as to where I was going with this line of thinking? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So since the PU f'ed up, s/he now has to fix it. If the ball wasn't caught, put the BR on 1B and advance any forced runners. If the ball WAS caught, then none of this matters, as the defense still made the out, and the BR's actions are irrelevant.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Was that because you judged the mis-call caused R1 to not reach 3rd in time?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
1. The BR stops running. 2. The other runners believe the force is removed so they hang back closer to their base than they otherwise would, and may not advance at all if the ball is not caught. It is also possible the defense will not make a throw for a force out, depriving them of an out. In the OP situation, this bad stuff only matters if the ball is not caught.
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Infield Fly?? | ljdave | Baseball | 6 | Mon May 05, 2008 01:18pm |
| Infield Fly | drh898 | Softball | 10 | Mon Oct 01, 2007 03:58pm |
| Infield Fly? | Mark Dexter | Baseball | 15 | Mon Jun 11, 2007 09:48am |
| Infield Fly - Who Calls it? | tskill | Baseball | 14 | Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:32am |
| infield fly | mccann | Softball | 4 | Sun Apr 17, 2005 02:47am |