![]() |
Third Strike touched ground
I need clarification on this:
2 out, a runner on third, 2 strikes on the batter. Pitcher pitched a drop ball, batter swung and missed, the pitched ball dropped few inches behind the home plate, 1 bounce but was swiftly and firmly caught by the catcher. Is it an automatic out for batter or does the catcher need to tag the batter or throw to first ? |
ASA:
This is a non-caught third strike and batter is not out until tagged, F2 throws the ball to 1B before BR arrives or BR walks into the dugout without proceeding to 1B. (Rule 8 Section 1B) This is true in baseball as well as other softball leagues. Batter would only be out automatically when there is a runner on first with less than two outs. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45pm. |