| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			I'm umping my first LL 9/10 Softball tourney and wanted some guidance on a call I made today.  1 out, R2 & R3.  On a passed ball, both runners attempt to advance, but a quick F2 gets ball to F1 covering and R3 heads back to 3B.  R2 has continued to 3B and both runners are on the bag for a moment.  R2 finally wises up and heads back to 2B.  I made a no call, since R2 did not pass R3. 
 
Before the next play, my base ump asked for a conference and raised the question of whether two runners on the same bag should have been an automatic out.  I asked whether R2 had passed R3, and when U2 confirmed that had not occurred, I said no out should be called.  I said that it was up to the defense to tag someone on the bag since only one runner was entitled to it (in this case, R3). 
 
After the game, I checked the LL rulebook.  Unless I missed something, I think we made the right call, but my partner suggested after the game that he was sure there was a rule somewhere about two runners on one base resulting in a out.   
 
So, did we boot it or not? 
 
Thanks for the help.  I just ran across this site and have found it invaluable as a newbie blue. 
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
			
			
			
				 
			
			
			
			
			
			
			
				
			
			
			
		 
	
	 |