![]() |
Rules Question
I'm a little confused about what would happen in this situation. Any clarification would be greatly appreciated.
The bases are loaded with one out. Batter hits a dribbler back to the pitcher. Pitcher picks it up and throws to home for the force out (and out #2 in the inning). The catcher then throws it to first where the base umpire signals out (#3) immediately before the player that started on second crossed home plate. An appeal is made because the first baseman pulled her foot and the homeplate umpire overturns the third out. The umpire forces the girl (who started on second base) that was approximately 2 steps away from scoring back on third base. Is this correct? I think the rules require that the girl starting on second would have had to already touch home plate before the third out was called but I don't know where it states that in any rules. Thanks for any help. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Sounds like someones little girl wasn't allowed to score and someone is upset!! |
Quote:
|
I'm opening the troll booth just in case...
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
And there is no rule that if the runner had crossed home plate and the force was made at first that it counts... its quite the opposite. We call em timing plays. |
Thats pretty much some horrible officiating IMO.
I doubt this is a troll... we just gotta accept that some of our brethren are just this bad. |
Quote:
|
It is a legitimate sitch. Mr Jones, you are the batter, and from your previous descriptions of your physique, your home to first time is north of 4 seconds. Watley is on second. From the time BU sees the ball beat the foot and winds up for his out sell, a minimum of 1 1/2 seconds go by.
By this time Watley has made it to within 2 feet of home. If BU initial ruling is safe, the run scores. But BU rules out, and later reverses himself with the pulled foot info from PU. So here is my question, is the run counting a judgment on the part of PU, i.e. he determines there was no way defense would have gotten the ball home in time, even with an original safe call. Or, the fact that Watley hadn't crossed the plate by the time the batter/runner's foot touches first means by rule she must go back? |
Quote:
I use my judgment all the time tho. (no wonder I stay in trouble) :D:p |
Quote:
Quote:
There were some who believed that if a runner was "more than halfway" to the next base, they should get that base. However, that's no longer the case. In this sitch, in my judgment, if the defense had no chance in hell in making a play on R2 going home, I'm awarding home. On the other hand, if, in my judgment as the PU, there probably could have been a play, the safe call would be to put R2 on 3B. |
After the 3rd out is made (in error or not), is the ball not dead?
|
How about this...what would have (likely) happened if the "right" call was made in the first place?
The right call being that F3 did not have contact with the base before the runner touched first. Run scores, two outs, runners on first and either second or third, next batter, please. |
Quote:
________ The Peak Towers Condominium |
Quote:
That said, this can't be judged like an interference call that kills everything even one inch from the next base. If a call is reversed, 10.3-C makes clear the plate umpire is intended to use the best possible judgment to negate (rectify) the jeopardy. If the run would have absolutely scored, in the best judgment of the umpire, home should be awarded. If it is unclear what the result at home would be, put her back on third. No, Youngump (yes, I know you were being facetious, but some reader may think you were serious), you cannot assume an out. |
Quote:
I'm taking the OP at face value...the runner was two steps from home. As I picture this play, there is no way in hell that a throw from F3 is going to get to F2 in time to get an out. This play and answer to the OP seems very simple to me with the information provided taken at face value. |
Well, you could also assume that the runner was going to step over the plate and be in jeopardy of being out on appeal! :D:D:D
|
Quote:
________ Laguna Bay Condo Prathumnak |
Another twist before giving the defense the entire bag of "jeopardy" widgets.
Who is to say the BU's original call did not cause the runner to slow assuming the inning was over and any further advance futile? FTR, I don't buy the point that the runner covered that much territory in the time noted, but the OP is all with which we have to work. FWIW, I am one of the "halfway" advocates when the ball is declared dead for reasons not of the offense's making. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02pm. |