The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Stealing Question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53199-stealing-question.html)

kped Wed May 13, 2009 10:30am

Stealing Question
 
This is in 12U, and we play under NFHS rules. A batter is walked, and second base in unoccupied, can she keep going to second. We will do this a lot mainly when we have a runner on third, to try and draw the throw to score the runner. As far as I know it is perfectly legal. We had an opposing coach question us last night, and he said if the pitcher was in the circle with the ball, no runners can advance.

Dakota Wed May 13, 2009 10:36am

It's legal so long as your BR does not stop ON 1st base or overrun and then commit to returning to 1B. She can stop (very briefly) after rounding, but then must immediately proceed or retreat.

The pitcher having the ball in the circle is not a magic "stop" button for an active runner.

kped Wed May 13, 2009 11:21am

Sweet, that is how I thought the rule was. This was coming from the same team who thinks it is OK to push their runners to kick start them..

CajunNewBlue Wed May 13, 2009 03:18pm

ummm and the umpires were doing what? during these "events"?

derwil Wed May 13, 2009 09:47pm

One other thing - if the BR rounds first and starts to second with the ball in the circle, she is absolutely commited to second base. If she stops, she's out.

Dakota Wed May 13, 2009 09:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by derwil (Post 601968)
One other thing - if the BR rounds first and starts to second with the ball in the circle, she is absolutely commited to second base. If she stops, she's out.

This is not true. The BR may stop once, and then must immediately proceed to 2B or retreat to 1B. ASA Rule 8-7-T-3a; NFHS Rule 8-7-4a.

vcblue Wed May 13, 2009 10:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by derwil (Post 601968)
One other thing - if the BR rounds first and starts to second with the ball in the circle, she is absolutely commited to second base. If she stops, she's out.

No... she is allowed one stop where ever she wants between the bases. Then she must continue on or go back without stopping.

ASA 8-7-T-3-a

Tom got there first

derwil Fri May 15, 2009 10:34am

Yea sorry....I meant that once she commited to second, she had to go. If she stops, then goes toward second and stops again she's out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1