![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Why? Are you saying that F5's throw to F3 and F3 subsequent tagging of first base before B/R5 touched first base is an advantageous fourth out appeal? MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Crap. No. The play on the Batter-Runner does absolutely nothing. One run scores, change 'em up. Sorry, guys... I'll pay better attention from now on.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
|
Is it correct to assume the ball is dead once the third out is made? (NFHS rulebook not in office) Could this play be appealed as long as the throw did beat the runner to first? Is this a situation that is not appealable?
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning"
|
|
|||
|
Can't speak for NFHS, but once the third out is made, the third out is made, change sides. Only way to nullify a run in ASA after the third out is if you're appealing a runner who scored.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Besides, I listed the appealable offenses for NFHS in my last post.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
eye opener
heard of 4th out never seen it applied...interesting scenerio... rules quote from case book didnt help...so are we in agreement that the defense has the right to choose the out to nullify the timing play at home?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
For NFHS, there ia a provision in the rule book that when more than one out is declared that ends an inning, the defensive coach has the option of which out will apply. Refer to Rule 9.1.1 Exception e: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows: e. when there is more than one out declared by the umpire which terminates the half inning (the defensive team may select the out which is to its advantage) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
. But, thanks MGKBLUE for pointing out that my concept was correct.
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Counting | JPaco54 | Basketball | 27 | Sat Feb 14, 2009 07:55am |
| Trouble counting to seven | whaddayouknow | Football | 19 | Wed Nov 02, 2005 01:27pm |
| Counting | WeekendRef | Basketball | 17 | Sat Aug 07, 2004 05:51pm |
| Another Counting Question | rainmaker | Basketball | 6 | Sun Jun 20, 2004 03:38pm |
| I'm counting it!!! | mick | Basketball | 11 | Thu Apr 05, 2001 09:07am |