The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Interference (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53141-interference.html)

andyump Sat May 09, 2009 09:29pm

Interference
 
Here's an interesting one. Runner on third, batter bunts the ball into the air along the first base line and takes off for first. The ball lands in fair territory up the first base line and the batter runner, while advancing to first, kicks the ball AFTER the runner from third touches home plate. It's less than 2 outs. And yes, this actually happened recently.

What's your call and does the run count?

Centerfield9 Sat May 09, 2009 09:47pm

Unless F3 had a play at home, I would rule the run counts and the BR is out. If F3 had a play at home had there been no interference, the runner and BR are both out.

wadeintothem Sat May 09, 2009 09:50pm

It seems to me I've seen this scenario before and it has some "cute" name even.. and somehow they make the argument that the obvious call is incorrect.

I'll have to think on it..I suppose it wouldnt be interesting if the ball was dead and br out and r return and blah blah.

I think someones pulling your leg that this happened, because I'm pretty sure this is a ufo lands on the field scenario given at clinics or when umpires are drinking beer and some guy is going on and on.

IRISHMAFIA Sat May 09, 2009 10:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by andyump (Post 600919)
Here's an interesting one. Runner on third, batter bunts the ball into the air along the first base line and takes off for first. The ball lands in fair territory up the first base line and the batter runner, while advancing to first, kicks the ball AFTER the runner from third touches home plate. It's less than 2 outs. And yes, this actually happened recently.

What's your call and does the run count?

Assuming the ball was fair when contacted, the BR is out. That's it. Nothing else to rule since there are no runners at the time of the INT.:rolleyes:

CecilOne Sun May 10, 2009 08:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 600929)
Assuming the ball was fair when contacted, the BR is out. That's it. Nothing else to rule since there are no runners at the time of the INT.:rolleyes:

Apparently, except in the "Sierra Nevada Mtns" :p:rolleyes:

Tru_in_Blu Sun May 10, 2009 09:26am

This is similar to a scenario that we discussed in our NUS last year.

Bases loaded, no out. Batter hits an infiled fly near 1B. Umpire calls IF if fair. Runner from 3B touches the plate. BR reaches over and intentionally slaps at the ball causing it to hit the ground.

RULING: BR out on the IF. Since interference happened after the runner scored, and the interference was done with intent to prevent a DP, the runner from 2B [now closest to home] is ruled out. Run scores.

Ted

wadeintothem Sun May 10, 2009 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 600970)
Apparently, except in the "Sierra Nevada Mtns" :p:rolleyes:

Hey now, there are few games up here! I goof my games up in the valley!

ronald Sun May 10, 2009 05:44pm

Tru_in_Blu

What out was the BR trying to prevent? I can't find that in your description.

Tru_in_Blu Sun May 10, 2009 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 601056)
Tru_in_Blu

What out was the BR trying to prevent? I can't find that in your description.

The runner from 3B ran to HP as soon as the ball was hit. The batter was out on infield fly and if F3 catches the ball, it's an easy DP appeal at 3B. Once the interference happened after the runner touched home, the next nearest runner is the on on 2B.

Ted

CecilOne Mon May 11, 2009 11:25am

So the issue is which runner is "closest to home" for enforcement purposes, because it affects the run scoring.
R1 has passed HP, but apparently the double play prevention was aimed at that runner.
:confused:

MGKBLUE Mon May 11, 2009 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 601239)
So the issue is which runner is "closest to home" for enforcement purposes, because it affects the run scoring.
R1 has passed HP, but apparently the double play prevention was aimed at that runner.
:confused:

Why not get three outs:

a. The caught on the batter;

b. The out on R2 for the interference by a retired runner (closest to home plate at the time of the interference; and

c. Out on R1 for a dead ball appeal at third base for leaving the base before the ball was caught.

IRISHMAFIA Mon May 11, 2009 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MGKBLUE (Post 601248)
Why not get three outs:

a. The caught on the batter;

b. The out on R2 for the interference by a retired runner (closest to home plate at the time of the interference; and

c. Out on R1 for a dead ball appeal at third base for leaving the base before the ball was caught.

Because the ball wasn't caught?

MGKBLUE Mon May 11, 2009 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 601250)
Because the ball wasn't caught?

Quote:

The runner from 3B ran to HP as soon as the ball was hit. The batter was out on infield fly and if F3 catches the ball, it's an easy DP appeal at 3B. Once the interference happened after the runner touched home, the next nearest runner is the on on 2B.

Ted
Sorry I was responding to the revised scanario, where the ball was caught.

Sorry for the confusion.

HugoTafurst Mon May 11, 2009 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 601250)
Because the ball wasn't caught?

But IFF was called, right?

IRISHMAFIA Mon May 11, 2009 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 601254)
But IFF was called, right?

So? There rules don't change because of that. Either the LIVE ball is caught or not.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1