The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   sitch with 8 players left to end game. (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53107-sitch-8-players-left-end-game.html)

klo376 Thu May 07, 2009 09:24am

sitch with 8 players left to end game.
 
Had a situation the other night where a team was down to 8 players in the bottom of the last inning (JV in a league that plays 5 inn DH's). The #9 hitter left earlier and came up to bat in the bottom of the 4th thus getting the third out of the fourth inning. Visitor scores a few in the top 5 making the score 14-4. Home comes to bat and the first player pops out to F4, then the second player strikes out. Now I have 2 outs home team down by 10 and 6 hitters until an automatic third out. Since the game has been decided could I declare the game over?

NCASAUmp Thu May 07, 2009 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by klo376 (Post 600293)
Had a situation the other night where a team was down to 8 players in the bottom of the last inning (JV in a league that plays 5 inn DH's). The #9 hitter left earlier and came up to bat in the bottom of the 4th thus getting the third out of the fourth inning. Visitor scores a few in the top 5 making the score 14-4. Home comes to bat and the first player pops out to F4, then the second player strikes out. Now I have 2 outs home team down by 10 and 6 hitters until an automatic third out. Since the game has been decided could I declare the game over?

What if the defense used up all of its subs, and two defensive players suddenly faint? What if the defensive coach doesn't like a call and punches your partner before the automatic out? Or some other scenario that would force a forfeit by the other team?

Despite the fact that there is no probable way for the home team to win, you should not simply declare it over.

It's not over until it's over. Anything can happen on the field, and someday, it most certainly will.

Dakota Thu May 07, 2009 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by klo376 (Post 600293)
Since the game has been decided could I declare the game over?

I seriously doubt your state high school association gives the umpire the power to unilaterally declare a game over (short of a forfeit). As painful as it may be, you need to follow the game ending rules of your state high school league.

NCASAUmp Thu May 07, 2009 09:46am

Besides... Let the girls have their at-bats. It's still a game, after all, and despite the fact that they will lose, they can still have their fun.

vcblue Thu May 07, 2009 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by klo376 (Post 600293)
Had a situation the other night where a team was down to 8 players in the bottom of the last inning (JV in a league that plays 5 inn DH's). The #9 hitter left earlier and came up to bat in the bottom of the 4th thus getting the third out of the fourth inning. Visitor scores a few in the top 5 making the score 14-4. Home comes to bat and the first player pops out to F4, then the second player strikes out. Now I have 2 outs home team down by 10 and 6 hitters until an automatic third out. Since the game has been decided could I declare the game over?

WOW... When do you have time to call balls and strikes? :eek:

Dakota Thu May 07, 2009 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 600295)
What if the defense used up all of its subs, and two defensive players suddenly faint? What if the defensive coach doesn't like a call and punches your partner before the automatic out? Or some other scenario that would force a forfeit by the other team?

Despite the fact that there is no probable way for the home team to win, you should not simply declare it over.

It's not over until it's over. Anything can happen on the field, and someday, it most certainly will.

Not to mention high school rules allow late arrivals to be added to the roster. Noting to say a player won't show up late.

youngump Thu May 07, 2009 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by klo376 (Post 600293)
Had a situation the other night where a team was down to 8 players in the bottom of the last inning (JV in a league that plays 5 inn DH's). The #9 hitter left earlier and came up to bat in the bottom of the 4th thus getting the third out of the fourth inning. Visitor scores a few in the top 5 making the score 14-4. Home comes to bat and the first player pops out to F4, then the second player strikes out. Now I have 2 outs home team down by 10 and 6 hitters until an automatic third out. Since the game has been decided could I declare the game over?

If this were a competitive league, we'd see six intentional walks in a row to prevent anything from ruining the win.
________
AllWonderful live

tcblue13 Thu May 07, 2009 11:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 600322)
If this were a competitive league, we'd see six intentional walks in a row to prevent anything from ruining the win.

Intentionally walking a batter to get to a vacant spot (out) in the lineup is illegal. I can't remember the rule # or the penalty/effect. That might only apply to the 3rd out of an inning. it slips my slimy mind.

IRISHMAFIA Thu May 07, 2009 11:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13 (Post 600327)
Intentionally walking a batter to get to a vacant spot (out) in the lineup is illegal. I can't remember the rule # or the penalty/effect. That might only apply to the 3rd out of an inning. it slips my slimy mind.

What is the umpire going to do, refuse to call anything, but a strike? Yeah, I can see it now. Fifteen pitches to a batter and the count is 0-2!:cool:

CajunNewBlue Thu May 07, 2009 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13 (Post 600327)
Intentionally walking a batter to get to a vacant spot (out) in the lineup is illegal. I can't remember the rule # or the penalty/effect. That might only apply to the 3rd out of an inning. it slips my slimy mind.

ermmm.. that doesn't sound right.... maybe in slooooo-pitch... maybe, but doubtful. ;)
Intentionally dropping or rolling the ball to get 4 balls for the walk can be illegal.

except in NSA (edited so i could be correct ;) )

IRISHMAFIA Thu May 07, 2009 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 600422)
ermmm.. that doesn't sound right.... maybe in slooooo-pitch... maybe, but doubtful. ;)
Intentionally dropping or rolling the ball to get 4 balls for the walk can be illegal.

When ASA adopted the shorthanded rule, there was a restriction on the automatic out, but that was dropped after the first year.

tcblue13 Thu May 07, 2009 07:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 600422)
ermmm.. that doesn't sound right.... maybe in slooooo-pitch... maybe, but doubtful. ;)
Intentionally dropping or rolling the ball to get 4 balls for the walk can be illegal.

This is a change from the 2006 rule which I was remembering but the effect is the same.

2009 NSA Ruleset Fastpitch and Modified Pitch
Quote:

When a team is left with a vacant spot in the lineup because of a player as described in Sec. 4 (b), the opposing team may not, with two outs, intentionally or unintentionally walk the previous batter in order to get the "AUTOMATIC OUT" created by the vacant spot in the batting order. This would also include catcher obstruction to the previous batter or the previous batter being hit by a legal or illegally pitched ball. If the previous batter is walked or hit by a legal or illegally pitched ball, the vacant spot is skipped, the "AUTOMATIC OUT" is waived, and the next batter is the player whose name follows the vacant spot in the batting order. This only applies when here are two (2) outs.

CajunNewBlue Thu May 07, 2009 08:24pm

Good thing I dont do NSA... ok, might just be me but GD thats a gei rule. they should just do away with playing shorthanded.
just my 2 pennies.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1