The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Federation Drag Bunt (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53045-federation-drag-bunt.html)

Dakota Fri May 01, 2009 12:46pm

Federation Drag Bunt
 
Fed Rules. Specifically, this Fed rule:
Quote:

SECTION 8 BUNT, ATTEMPTED BUNT, DRAG BUNT
ART. 1 . . .
Bunt. A bunt is a legally batted ball not swung at but intentionally
tapped with the bat.
ART. 2 . . . Attempted Bunt. Any non-swinging movement of the bat intended
to tap the ball into play. Holding the bat in the strike zone is considered a bunt
attempt. In order to take a pitch, the bat must be withdrawn – pulled backward
and away from the ball.
ART. 3 . . . Drag Bunt. A drag bunt is attempting to bunt the ball by running
forward in the batter's box, carrying the bat with her. The movement of the bat is
in conjunction with the batter's forward movement.
Batter is attempting a drag bunt. Please describe what you would consider to be taking and what you could consider to be an offer.

Tru_in_Blu Fri May 01, 2009 12:59pm

I'd say same as article 2 - the batter would have to withdraw the bat.

Ted

Dakota Fri May 01, 2009 01:44pm

What if the batter has run completely through the strike zone (so is no longer holding the bat in the zone)?

The batter is running forward... "pulled back..."?

Skahtboi Fri May 01, 2009 02:22pm

Did the bat pass through the strike zone? Do you feel she made a legitimate offer at the pitch?

Tru_in_Blu Fri May 01, 2009 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 599230)
What if the batter has run completely through the strike zone (so is no longer holding the bat in the zone)?

The batter is running forward... "pulled back..."?

Well, hopefully the batter hasn't run completely through the strike zone or she might be guilty of a different infraction. ;)

Typically, drag bunters are in the LH batter's box and they may start from the back of the box and move up to the front/1B portion of the box. But I think the same application of the rule comes into play here - if the bat is being carried through the zone as the ball crosses the plate, it's a strike. If they don't want to offer at the pitch, the bat has to be withdrawn.

I think it's easier when you can see it. What some coaches may argue is that a drag bunt fouled off w/ 2 strikes was "really a slap". Your judgment.

Ted

Dakota Fri May 01, 2009 09:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 599246)
Did the bat pass through the strike zone?

Yes.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 599246)
Do you feel she made a legitimate offer at the pitch?

No, but that is irrelevant in Fed.

Dakota Fri May 01, 2009 09:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 599266)
Well, hopefully the batter hasn't run completely through the strike zone or she might be guilty of a different infraction. ;)

Typically, drag bunters are in the LH batter's box and they may start from the back of the box and move up to the front/1B portion of the box. But I think the same application of the rule comes into play here - if the bat is being carried through the zone as the ball crosses the plate, it's a strike. If they don't want to offer at the pitch, the bat has to be withdrawn.

I think it's easier when you can see it. What some coaches may argue is that a drag bunt fouled off w/ 2 strikes was "really a slap". Your judgment.

Ted

The problem is this was a drag bunt attempt that last year would not have been ruled an offer. She had drug the bat fully through the strike zone before the ball arrived. She did not pull the bat back, as the rule requires, but the bat was not in the strike zone, as the rule requires. She made no specific "offer" at the ball (the pitch was high, the bat stayed low - no movement toward the ball).

Personally, I think the authors of the rule got too specific by referencing the bat in the strike zone.

HugoTafurst Sat May 02, 2009 07:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 599266)
(w(Snip)
What some coaches may argue is that a drag bunt fouled off w/ 2 strikes was "really a slap". Your judgment.

Ted

Which could be a subject for another topic - Drag vs. Slap.
Among other things, I'm looking at hand placement , and wrist movement.
I've been comfortable with my decisions so far this year.....

Dakota Sat May 02, 2009 09:20am

I was comfortable with my partners decision, too (strike), but the coach griped (surprise!).

I was wondering how you guys are calling this. I look at it this way:

1) "holding the bat in the strike zone"

- "holding the bat" also applies to a drag, but does not apply when the batter is clearly NOT attempting a bunt anymore (i.e. when she is attempting to avoid being hit by a pitch)
- I don't place much stock in "strike zone" part of the rule for a drag bunt

2) withdrawn – pulled backward and away from the ball

- withdrawn means pulling the bat out from the bunting position; doesn't matter if it is back or up.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1