The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Interference Call? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53027-interference-call.html)

Badamk Thu Apr 30, 2009 08:47am

Interference Call?
 
I'm new at this and have another question.

Ball hit to F6, R1 on Second is advancing to third. R1 steps behind F6 to avoid interference. F6 has the ball get past her a foot or two and turns to make a play and collides with R1.

Call?

ronald Thu Apr 30, 2009 09:19am

Have a nice day:cool:

wadeintothem Thu Apr 30, 2009 09:39am

How does she turn to make a play without the ball?

Inquiring minds want to know.

vcblue Thu Apr 30, 2009 09:42am

Could be a fake tag... Darn-it, now I have to get in the book :)

Badamk Thu Apr 30, 2009 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadeintothem (Post 598889)
How does she turn to make a play without the ball?

Inquiring minds want to know.

"Turns to make a play" = "Turns to pick up the ball to attempt to make a play"

sorry

Skahtboi Thu Apr 30, 2009 09:45am

Now....another important question needs to be answered. What rule set?

wadeintothem Thu Apr 30, 2009 09:50am

:rolleyes: train wreck :rolleyes:

we dont need no sticking rule set.

Dakota Thu Apr 30, 2009 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadeintothem (Post 598902)
:rolleyes: train wreck :rolleyes:

we dont need no sticking rule set.

Call Fed much?

Badamk Thu Apr 30, 2009 10:47am

nfhs

Dakota Thu Apr 30, 2009 10:54am

In Fed, that is still the initial play on the batted ball, so the call is interference.

In ASA, it is most likely obstruction.

In wade's world, it is a train wreck. ;)

0balls2strikes Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:19am

NCAA- Ive got nothing. I'm signaling safe to let everyone know i saw the contact and ruled nothing. I'm will be prepared to explain ruling if asked by coach. But at the same time it would have to depend on how the play happened....one of those have to see to make a call. But from the description above I've got nothing.

ronald Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:59am

DC: Blue, why no interference?

OC: Blue, why no obstruction?

Speaking NCAA.

Ref Ump Welsch Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 598951)
DC: Blue, why no interference?

OC: Blue, why no obstruction?

Speaking NCAA.

Ump: Coaches, since you're both out here, why not a no-call? *walking away* :p

wadeintothem Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 598932)
In Fed, that is still the initial play on the batted ball, so the call is interference.

In ASA, it is most likely obstruction.

In wade's world, it is a train wreck. ;)

Well heck I figured I'd go ahead and declare the train wreck since sports are getting mixed up so much lately. :D

Badamk Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 598951)
DC: Blue, why no interference?

OC: Blue, why no obstruction?

Speaking NCAA.

That was the exact reaction that I got. I called nothing. Everyone was upset.

What I wanted to say to the DC... "If your ss had a better coach, maybe she would have worked more on fielding and we wouldn't have an issue."

to the OC... "Have you thought about teaching your girls to move on contact? She should have been nowhere near that play."

Ref Ump Welsch Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadeintothem (Post 598955)
Well heck I figured I'd go ahead and declare the train wreck since sports are getting mixed up so much lately. :D

Didn't you throw your yellow flag for a personal foul unnecessary roughness??? And T the coaches up for giving you grief??? :D

Dakota Thu Apr 30, 2009 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Badamk (Post 598957)
That was the exact reaction that I got. I called nothing. Everyone was upset....

If you did that in a Fed game, everyone had a right to be upset. Train wrecks have virtually disappeared from Fed softball. Get out your 2009 rule book and read everything in there about "initial play." In Fed, this should have been interference.

wadeintothem Thu Apr 30, 2009 02:05pm

Your timing must be such that the noncall is used when no one else but you noticed or will complain.
When everyone complains - you missed the call that would have limited to only one complaint and would have resulted in an out, unless of course that would negate a game ending run.

Dakota Thu Apr 30, 2009 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadeintothem (Post 598987)
Your timing must be such that the noncall is used when no one else but you noticed or will complain.
When everyone complains - you missed the call that would have limited to only one complaint and would have resulted in an out, unless of course that would negate a game ending run.

You're trying to get that trophy, aren't you? :D

IRISHMAFIA Thu Apr 30, 2009 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 598932)
In ASA, it is most likely obstruction.

ASA would depend upon whether the umpire judged that F6 had the opportunity to make an out. If so, it in INT. (8.7.J.4)

wadeintothem Thu Apr 30, 2009 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 598993)
You're trying to get that trophy, aren't you? :D


Well if ya cant beat em join em.

AtlUmpSteve Thu Apr 30, 2009 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 598984)
If you did that in a Fed game, everyone had a right to be upset. Train wrecks have virtually disappeared from Fed softball. Get out your 2009 rule book and read everything in there about "initial play." In Fed, this should have been interference.

Out of the house, no references. Just like on the ball field, I suppose.

In NFHS, this contact HAS to be something. Your initial description of "a foot or two" makes it sound like the initial play (after muffing, still within a step and a reach) applies; if so, has to be interference. If more than a step and a reach, then it must be obstruction.

As a personal point of emphasis, the act of turning is often MORE than one step; if that is true (and it generally is), then the initial play has ended, and the fielder is no longer protected. If she literally pivots on one foot, THEN she still has a step and a reach available. We don't want to be rewarding misplays more than the written rule provides.

In ASA, as Mike mentioned, there is no initial play definition; if the fielder still has an opportunity to get an out, the fielder is still protected. If the ball was anywhere still in reach, that runner was still a possible out, so it almost has to be interference (in the play you describe). Again, if the ball is farther than that (so that you think the runners would all be safe if no contact), it has to be obstruction. This is, again, NOT a train wreck in ASA; someone has the right of way, and is protected.

Dakota Thu Apr 30, 2009 07:32pm

Taking the OP at his word, "foot or two"... have to have pretty short legs and arms for this to not be within a step and reach, turn or no turn.

I agree on the ASA interp, but it is definitely HTBT. Since R1 was running behind F6 and F6 still had not retrieved the ball when the collision happened, a tag would have been unlikely, it seems to me. So, perhaps the out would have been the BR at first or a throw to F5 at third, but that is way too much speculation for the limited info given. That's why I said it was likely obs. But, still HTBT.

Andy Fri May 01, 2009 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadeintothem (Post 598987)
Your timing must be such that the noncall is used when no one else but you noticed or will complain.
When everyone complains - you missed the call that would have limited to only one complaint and would have resulted in an out, unless of course that would negate a game ending run and leave players sprawled on the field crying while the umpire leaves with a menacing laugh!

This is what Wade really meant to say.......:D

wadeintothem Fri May 01, 2009 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 599187)
This is what Wade really meant to say.......:D

That is naturally inferred. :cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1