The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Touching bases in legal order (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/52959-touching-bases-legal-order.html)

Centerfield9 Sat Apr 25, 2009 07:33pm

Touching bases in legal order
 
R1 at 1st. Batter hits a triple, touches 1st and 2nd and stands on 3rd. R1 misses 2nd, touches 3rd, and slides into home on a play where the ball goes out-of-play. The defense is screaming that R1 missed 2nd and to appeal. R1 gets up and runs back to 3rd on his way to 2nd.

Questions:
Can R1 go back in reverse order to touch a missed base on a dead ball? And how does this affect the appeal?
Does the batter-runner need to back-track behind R1, i.e. go back to 1st, so that R1 can occupy 2nd?

RKBUmp Sat Apr 25, 2009 09:12pm

Dont have an ASA case study so cant find it there. The NFHS case study book doesnt have anything in it that even comes close, but by the letter of the ASA rules it appears that the runner/s have to be allowed to complete their base running requirments before an appeal may be granted.

No mention is made about succeeding runner except to state that a runner may not return to touch a missed base or base left to soon once a succeeding runner has scored. In the case presented, the succeeding runner has not scored so it appears that if the runner at 3rd property retreats back to 1st and lead runner properly goes back to 2nd it would be a legal play.

Anyone have an ASA case study that covers it?

IRISHMAFIA Sat Apr 25, 2009 09:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Centerfield9 (Post 597785)
R1 at 1st. Batter hits a triple, touches 1st and 2nd and stands on 3rd. R1 misses 2nd, touches 3rd, and slides into home on a play where the ball goes out-of-play. The defensive is screaming that R1 missed 2nd and to appeal. R1 gets up and runs back to 3rd on his way to 2nd.

Questions:
Can R1 go back in reverse order to touch a missed base on a dead ball?

Yes.

Quote:

And how does this affect the appeal?
It has no affect on the appeal which will be accepted by the umpire AFTER all baserunning duties are completed. Of course, by then there is no appeal to be made since the runner touched all the bases.

Quote:

Does the batter-runner need to back-track behind R1, i.e. go back to 1st, so that R1 can occupy 2nd?
Though I have never seen it, yes.

youngump Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 597796)
Though I have never seen it, yes.

Why?
________
Sweetboyscouplexx Live

IRISHMAFIA Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 597810)
Why?

Why not?

RKBUmp Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:12pm

Because the batter/runner can not pass any other runner on base without being out. There is no way for the lead runner to legally retouch 2nd base without the batter/runner also returning to 1st legally.

AtlUmpSteve Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 597813)
Because the batter/runner can not pass any other runner on base without being out. There is no way for the lead runner to legally retouch 2nd base without the batter/runner also returning to 1st legally.

Actually, yes there is. It is legally possible for B2 to retreat only to 2nd, and R1 retreat (also) to 2nd, touch it with B2 also in simultaneous contact, as long as there is no physical passing.

In live play, that couldn't be the end, but, we are talking about awarded bases due to the ball thrown out of play. They only need to retreat enough to retouch, then advance again to the legally awarded bases, again in proper order.

Tru_in_Blu Sun Apr 26, 2009 08:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 597816)
Actually, yes there is. It is legally possible for B2 to retreat only to 2nd, and R1 retreat (also) to 2nd, touch it with B2 also in simultaneous contact, as long as there is no physical passing.

In live play, that couldn't be the end, but, we are talking about awarded bases due to the ball thrown out of play. They only need to retreat enough to retouch, then advance again to the legally awarded bases, again in proper order.

So this could get pretty interesting. If the batter did not retreat to 2B as described above, as soon as the runner went from home to 3B, then passed B2 on her way to touch 2b, B2 would be called out? [And if called out immediately as the third out of the inning, this would render the runner's retrace of the bases moot?]

Ted

youngump Sun Apr 26, 2009 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 597812)
Why not?

Because the rule for passing a runner is only intended to apply during a live ball. (At least based on the penalty.)
________
1CherryLady

Centerfield9 Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 597842)
So this could get pretty interesting. If the batter did not retreat to 2B as described above, as soon as the runner went from home to 3B, then passed B2 on her way to touch 2b, B2 would be called out? [And if called out immediately as the third out of the inning, this would render the runner's retrace of the bases moot?]

Ted

Good question. On a live ball, I would agree. But does this apply on a dead ball? If the runners are allowed to finish their base running responsibilities, as long as they touch the bases in correct order, does it matter if they pass other runners?

IRISHMAFIA Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 597848)
Because the rule for passing a runner is only intended to apply during a live ball. (At least based on the penalty.)

Citation please.

Speaking ASA

While the "ball remains" or "is live" subsequent to the rule being effected, I cannot find any published stipulation that the rule only applies to live-ball situations.

Now I think about it, I believe this was covered at the UIC Clinic this year using a MLB example from before they called it MLB. I believe the example used involved Tim McCarver hitting an over-the-fence grand slam on July 4, 1976 in Pittsburgh. Rounding 1B, he promptly passed Gary Maddox who was admiring the shot. Mr. All Talk, No Rules Knowledge was ruled out, credited with a single and three RBIs.

Tru_in_Blu Sun Apr 26, 2009 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 597865)
I believe the example used involved Tim McCarver hitting an over-the-fence grand slam on July 4, 1976 in Pittsburgh. Rounding 1B, he promptly passed Gary Maddox who was admiring the shot. Mr. All Talk, No Rules Knowledge was ruled out, credited with a single and three RBIs.

This has happened a few times. I recall Dalton Jones of the Red Sox doing the same thing and passed the runner at first base who was looking at the ball. Might have been against Detroit.

Then in a playoff game more recently, someone for the Mets hit a "grand slam single", w/ 3 rbi. I believe that one was a walk-off affair, and the extra run(s) didn't matter. Still, you'd think the player would like to "touch 'em all".

Ted

SethPDX Sun Apr 26, 2009 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 597888)
Then in a playoff game more recently, someone for the Mets hit a "grand slam single", w/ 3 rbi. I believe that one was a walk-off affair, and the extra run(s) didn't matter. Still, you'd think the player would like to "touch 'em all".

I remember this. It was a walk-off in the 99 NLCS. He did touch first, and was trying to run the bases, but he got jumped by his teammates who came out of the dugout. The scoring decision: Single and 3 RBI for the batter. It was a HR, so the runners were entitled to advance to home, which they all did.

AtlUmpSteve Sun Apr 26, 2009 09:36pm

I see these examples as a pattern, a precedent; whether live or dead, whether bases touched in jeopardy or awarded, baserunning rules (touch bases, in legal order, no passing, no assistance by other than other runners not passing) must be honored, or violations are subject to penalty (if appealed when necessary). What runners must do in live ball play (reverse to allow a preceding runner to return without passing) must also apply when allowing a runner to "complete baserunning responsibilities". B2 MUST allow R1 to reverse without passing; yes, B2 would the runner ruled out.

The place I start to lose my definitive clarity is if/when an umpire should call any non-appealed baserunning violation during a dead ball, like passing the other runner while backtracking. Still a dead ball, can they still (or re-) fix the running violations? It hasn't happened to me, but I think, absent any definitive interpretation to the contrary (and I don't know of one), that I would react the same as a live ball violation, calling passing and/or assisting, and requiring an appeal if a missed base or out or order).

Tru_in_Blu Sun Apr 26, 2009 11:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SethPDX (Post 597897)
I remember this. It was a walk-off in the 99 NLCS. He did touch first, and was trying to run the bases, but he got jumped by his teammates who came out of the dugout. The scoring decision: Single and 3 RBI for the batter. It was a HR, so the runners were entitled to advance to home, which they all did.

I had the Dalton Jones thing wrong. Apparently he was playing for Detroit against the Red Sox. Wikipedia's got it all straight...

Grand Slam Single
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
The Grand Slam Single is a reference to the hit that ended Game Five of the 1999 National League Championship Series between the New York Mets and the Atlanta Braves. The game was played on October 17, 1999 at Shea Stadium.

The game was tied 2-2 going into the top of the 15th inning, until Mets pitcher Octavio Dotel gave up an RBI triple to Keith Lockhart, giving the Braves a 3-2 lead.

In the bottom of the 15th inning, the Mets loaded the bases against Braves relief pitcher Kevin McGlinchy. Mets catcher Todd Pratt drew a bases loaded walk, tying the score 3-3.

The next batter was Mets third baseman Robin Ventura. Ventura crushed the 2-1 pitch over the wall in right-center for an ostensible grand slam, winning the game for the Mets and driving the Mets players and fans into a frenzied celebration. Ventura, however, never reached second base as Todd Pratt, the runner who was on first, picked up Ventura in celebration. Subsequently, Ventura was mobbed by his teammates, never finishing his trot around the bases. Because he failed to touch all four bases, the hit was officially scored a single. Roger Cedeno, the runner on third at the time, was ruled the only runner to have crossed home plate before the on-field celebration began and the Mets were awarded a 4-3 victory. Thus, Ventura was only credited with a single and one RBI. (It is worth noting that there has never been an actual game-winning grand slam home run in postseason history, as of 2008.)

Sports books in Las Vegas were put into an unusual situation with the "single" as a final score of 7-3 (the score that would have been had Ventura completed his trip around the bases) meant the game would have gone "over" the over/under line, which was 7 1/2. However, the final score actually put the game "under," meaning that many bettors that should have received payouts did not. [1]

The play remains as one of the most memorable moments in Mets postseason history.[citation needed] Orel Hershiser, who played on the 1999 Mets remarked, "It will be right up there with Kirk Gibson's home run, Carlton Fisk, Bucky Dent. This one will be on that tape with them."[citation needed] The Mets went on to lose the series to the Braves, who were in turn swept by the New York Yankees in the World Series.

According to Baseball-Reference.com, there have been at least two other instances of "grand slam singles." Both occurred when a batter hit a grand slam but subsequently passed the runner ahead of them on the base paths, which according to the rules of Major League Baseball causes the runner who passes his teammate to be called out. This happened on July 9, 1970, when Dalton Jones of the Detroit Tigers passed teammate Don Wert in a game against the Boston Red Sox, leaving him with a 3-RBI single. It also occurred on July 4, 1976, when Tim McCarver of the Philadelphia Phillies passed teammate Garry Maddox in a game against the Pittsburgh Pirates, leaving him with a 3-RBI single. In both cases, the other three runs still counted because only the player who passes his teammate is called out. The three baserunners are able to score [2]. Both of these hits took place with less than two outs.

UmpireErnie Sun Apr 26, 2009 11:26pm

In NFHS (High School) play, once a runner has advanced to the next base beyond the base missed or the base left-too-soon, she may not return if the ball becomes dead. See NFHS 2-1-6a. Once the ball goes out of play and the umpire declares a dead ball R1 is basically done. A dead ball appeal would be honored and R1 would be ruled out.

ASA seems a bit dicier. ASA 8-5G (2) on page 88 says that a runner cannot return once she has touched the first awarded base beyond the base missed or left-too-soon, but also says that runners must be given the opportunity to finish their base running duties prior to an award. As I read the ASA Rules Supplement on page 107 when the ball goes out of play the umpire should call a dead ball and wait to see if the runner is going to go back and touch the missed base or tag up at the base left-too-soon. If the runner does return then at that point you administer the awarded bases. Now if the defense wishes to make an appeal they may but it is too late since the runner did touch the base prior to the appeal. If the runner does not attempt to return, then make the award of the bases for the ball going out of play. Once the umpire verbally makes the award, and the runner has touched the next base beyond the base missed or left-too-soon, she may not return. The defense may appeal and the runner be ruled out.

While the umpire calling the dead ball may not have seen the missed base, his partner may have so it would seem that in ASA on any ball out of play the unpire should hesitate after declaring a dead ball and wait to see if the runner(s) are going to do any more base running.

I can’t find anything in print about the situation where R1 passes the BR who is on 3B after the ball goes out of play and R1 is going back to touch the missed 2B. The BR having to retreat to 2B so R1 can follow her and touch 2B makes sense, I guess in effect because her teammate missed 2B and still has “base running duties to perform” then the BR also still has “base running duties to perform” and could also retreat to 2B even though she had not herself missed a base or left-too-soon. Following all of that running around, the award would be made based on the runners location at the time of the throw not where they ended up after all this extra curricular activity.

But if R1 returns to 2B and passes the BR who does not backtrack ahead of R1 well then I just don’t know. ASA 8-7-D deals with passing another runner but says “the ball remains alive” so this appears to be only talking about passing another runner during a live ball and while running the bases in normal i.e. forward order. Still it does not seem as if R1s return to 2B is proper if she passes the BR at 3B to do it.

If I was on a field tonight and it happened I think I would honor an appeal on R1 since she did not properly go back to the missed based unless the BR went back ahead of her. And I think I would be very convincing about it and sound as if I knew what I was doing. But in effect it would be a “Rule 10” decision. So I am willing to be talked out of it by my peers. What do you think?

NFHS has this one tied up in a bow. College guys.. what does NCAA say?

IRISHMAFIA Mon Apr 27, 2009 07:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpireErnie (Post 597987)
ASA seems a bit dicier. ASA 8-5G (2) on page 88 says that a runner cannot return once she has touched the first awarded base beyond the base missed or left-too-soon,.... Once the umpire verbally makes the award, and the runner has touched the next base beyond the base missed or left-too-soon, she may not return. The defense may appeal and the runner be ruled out.

Actually, it does not say that. It states that the runner may not return to touch a base left too soon or a missed base once the runner has advanced to the "next awarded base." There is a difference.

Quote:

I can’t find anything in print about the situation where R1 passes the BR who is on 3B after the ball goes out of play and R1 is going back to touch the missed 2B. The BR having to retreat to 2B so R1 can follow her and touch 2B makes sense, I guess in effect because her teammate missed 2B and still has “base running duties to perform” then the BR also still has “base running duties to perform” and could also retreat to 2B even though she had not herself missed a base or left-too-soon. Following all of that running around, the award would be made based on the runners location at the time of the throw not where they ended up after all this extra curricular activity.

But if R1 returns to 2B and passes the BR who does not backtrack ahead of R1 well then I just don’t know. ASA 8-7-D deals with passing another runner but says “the ball remains alive” so this appears to be only talking about passing another runner during a live ball and while running the bases in normal i.e. forward order. Still it does not seem as if R1s return to 2B is proper if she passes the BR at 3B to do it.
Talking about making something dicier ;)

There is something in writing and you already cited it. As noted, "the ball remains live" or "the ball is live" simply tells the umpire and teams that this call does not cause a dead ball.

Personally, I like it this way as it keeps all runners and action in proper order and perspective. The rule is always applicable in the same manner, not one ruling for a dead ball and one for a live ball.

RKBUmp Mon Apr 27, 2009 08:26am

Im not so sure your citing of the NFHS rule completely ties this up under FED rules. Your citation of rules says they may not return to touch a missed base or one left too soon on a "caught fly ball if"

As I recall in the original post, the batter hit a triple with the ball going out of play on a throw to the plate. This play had nothing to do with a caught fly ball.

ronald Mon Apr 27, 2009 09:15am

It states that the runner may not return to touch a base left too soon or a missed base once the runner has advanced to the "next awarded base."

So if batter runner misses first base, between 1b and 2b when ball leaves fielder's fingers and on 2b when it goes out of play, what is the ruling? Has he already advanced to the next awarded base (he/she will be awarded 3b and is on the next awarded base. That is what I understand at this point) or can he go back and retouch?

In Federation he/she is SOL.

Thanks.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 598042)
It states that the runner may not return to touch a base left too soon or a missed base once the runner has advanced to the "next awarded base."

So if batter runner misses first base, between 1b and 2b when ball leaves fielder's fingers and on 2b when it goes out of play, what is the ruling? Has he already advanced to the next awarded base (he/she will be awarded 3b and is on the next awarded base. That is what I understand at this point) or can he go back and retouch?

In Federation he/she is SOL.

Thanks.

That is why we are told to hesitate and observe the runner's reactions prior to announcing "awarded bases", but I understand your question which is one of the reasons I posted the proper wording even though the difference as it pertains to the actual rule and mechanic is the semantics.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1