![]() |
Intentional Walk ~ Slowpitch
This is an ISF Rule, not sure if it applies to ASA?
(SP ONLY) The ball is dead and runners may not advance unless forced. 3. If the pitcher desires to walk a batter intentionally he may do so by notifying the plate umpire who shall award the batter first base. If two batters are to be walked intentionally the second intentional walk may not be administered until the first batter reaches first base. If it does, can someone assist me with: What award (if any) happens if the 2nd batter (Female) does walk before the the 1st Batter reaches 1st the Base? |
I would think that you as the umpire would instruct the batter not to start walking until the other batter has reached 1st base.
|
Quote:
You cited the answer to prevent this from happening. Same is if two batters are to be walked. As the PU, you do not recognized the female's option (when available) to take the walk until the male has reached 1B. If the female starts off before you recognize it, attempt to stop her. A simple "hang on" or "not yet" should delay the female long enough to allow the male to achieve 1B. |
There's no penalty for passing the male batter
Quote:
Per rule 8.1.C.4 Effect... Should the female batter-runner pass a male batter-runner when choosing to walk, no out shall be declared during this dead ball period. A male batter-runner advancing to second base without touching first base shall be called out if properly appealed. |
True, but...
Quote:
|
Continued
True to both replies so far, and in full agreement to all.
I shall now just 'verbally' recall the female batter/walker back to the on-deck until the male batter has reached 2nd base. As once he reaches 2nd base the appeal is on, and obviously he cannot now return to 1st to touch it, so we have an Out! |
Not True
Quote:
"A male batter-runner advancing to second base without touching first base shall be call out if properly appealed." So the male batter still has to touch 1st, even if the female batter has past him. |
Not Rue Query!
Quote:
Rule: The batter is awarded one base without liability to be put out, provided he advances to and touches first base. If the umpire mistakenly allows two walks at one time and the first batter fails to touch first base, no appeal will be honoured on the first batter. But thank you all for your input. I understand what to do should this happen again in the next 23 years!! |
I was speaking ASA
Quote:
|
Quote:
So finally you will give up slow-pitch and concentrate only on fast-pitch???;) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41am. |