![]() |
Interference call?
ASA
The same idiot coach who I talked about in a previous thread "Rabbit Ears" http://forum.officiating.com/softbal...bbit-ears.html did the following and its been rattling around in my head every since. Even at the time... I just stood there staring at it ... half way about to call it but just not sure. When I'm not sure, I dont call it, especially if no one is whining. :D R1 @ 3B on the pitch R1 Runs for home, coach runs beside with her for a few steps (3 or 4) then the coach and runner come to a "runner stop" and then he yells very loudly "get back get back get back" and waving his arms wildly... obviously the 12-13 y/o catcher is about to crap her pants and throws the ball to who knows where and the runner scores easily. Not a peep from anyone. There is a specific coaches interference which this play does not fall within.. "Bush league" type deal, defense accountable or INT? Obviously, INT could be called.. should it be? As I type it out.. it seems like a pretty obvious INT call. At the time though I was kind of incredulous at this jerk. |
Was this before or after the Rabbit ear incident?
|
It was after.
|
4-7-C-2-a
Intentionally interfering with the play? or Wildly instructing runner to return? I wouldn't call it. |
Quote:
________ Live sex |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
________ Pattaya Heights |
Quote:
|
It's bush, but not interference. If he keeps trying that, in a couple of years he'll be pulling that big yellow softball out of his ear.
|
Quote:
|
I had the almost exact thing happen last summer... (I didn't call it either.)
DC comes out and calls the OC bush and a few other words :eek:that I couldn't quite hear as DC had third base dugout. OC didn't do it again. :D I talked with the UIC of the tourney and a few umpires about it and although we'd all love to call it INT and seatbelt a bush playing coach like this. We cant/shouldnt and it was explained like this to me. "Players should know there own teams/coaches voices." This was a ASA rule based tournament. |
A perfectly executed pitchout and snap throw down to third would probably take care of this situation.
|
Quote:
Ted |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
In this sitch, though... I can't call INT. Not because of the voice issue, but the coach is coaching his runner. Maybe it's HTBT, but from the OP, I just can't call it. |
Quote:
BTW "Pull something like that, and I'll call INT, not to mention the probability that I might toss the offending vocalist for USC." What about a fly foul ball in front of the O's dugout? and someone in the dugout yells "i got it" and fielder drops the catch? What we doing then? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
What would happen if you, as the umpire in a 3-umpire system, went out on a ball and waved off the other BU and said, "I got it" and the OF let the ball drop? After all, you called it! :rolleyes: Yes, you should say "2-umpire" or "2-man", but in the excitement, that isn't always what is said. I have heard, "Mine", "I got it", "My ball" among a few other things. I have not seen a fielder react, but could just imagine the conversation with the defense's coach :D |
Quote:
If you deviate from that and cause confusion, you deserve the subsequent ***-chewing. |
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota It's bush, but not interference. If he keeps trying that, in a couple of years he'll be pulling that big yellow softball out of his ear. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If you have a catcher so terribly obvious that they are throwing the ball at the coach, would you ignore that? If you do, where do you draw the line on retaliatory actions? |
Quote:
On second thought, I might just draw the line on 12U and younger get a pass with jerk, bush league adults. :D |
Quote:
|
I had a similar play on Tuesday. BR (who is a fellow umpires daughter and a heck of a player) launches one right down the 3B line. We're playing a HS game on a city field that had fences of about 350' so there's not really a chance of it leaving the park but either way it's going for a ride. I'm BU and cut in as soon as I see it leave the bat. After the BR rounds first I cut a look to my partner who is signalling fair and I run with her to make sure she touches all the bases. Almost as soon as she hit the runners lane the DC is screaming "FOUL BALL, FOUL BALL". He continued this until she touched the plate. The BR didn't even hesitate so I didn't want to rob her of her glory and kill it only to award her home. After the play I call time and have a quick "Come to Jesus" talk with the DC who saw the error of his ways. One of my points to him was that there are only four male voices on the field, two coaches and two umpires. If she had stopped or hesitated it would have left me no choice on a hit like that.
|
Quote:
Even if she hesitated or stopped, you still are not going to kill the play until she is put out or all play is completed. |
Quote:
|
Im pretty sure it would be accidental...
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41am. |