The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Part 2 of Two runners on the base . (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/52183-part-2-two-runners-base.html)

Chess Ref Tue Mar 10, 2009 06:16am

Part 2 of Two runners on the base .
 
So we have R2 on 3b. R1 on 2B. Walk to the batter. Then R1 gets confused and ends up sharing up the third base with R2.,
After I call R1 out at 3B, she gets even more confused. Coaches,parents all hooting and hollaring. Poor girl never had a chance. So she runs back to second base. Draws a throw cause the defense is just as clueless as the offense as to whats going on.
So talking with the DC after the dust had settled he tried to sell me "interference for a retired runner drawing a throw". Nice verbiage coach . He wanted another out because the throw to F6 prevented them from making a play on the BR who had rounded 1B in the middle of all this. I wasn't buying it though. Then I got to thinking maybe he had a point..:(
Would you have come up with another out for the drawing a throw ?

NCASAUmp Tue Mar 10, 2009 07:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref (Post 586916)
So we have R2 on 3b. R1 on 2B. Walk to the batter. Then R1 gets confused and ends up sharing up the third base with R2.,
After I call R1 out at 3B, she gets even more confused. Coaches,parents all hooting and hollaring. Poor girl never had a chance. So she runs back to second base. Draws a throw cause the defense is just as clueless as the offense as to whats going on.
So talking with the DC after the dust had settled he tried to sell me "interference for a retired runner drawing a throw". Nice verbiage coach . He wanted another out because the throw to F6 prevented them from making a play on the BR who had rounded 1B in the middle of all this. I wasn't buying it though. Then I got to thinking maybe he had a point..:(
Would you have come up with another out for the drawing a throw ?

Can't speak for NFHS, but... ASA states that a retired runner drawing a throw can be INT as per rule 8-7-P. HOWEVER. There has to be a possible play on another runner who is not out for you to call INT. If the runner on 3B had taken off for home or the runner now on 1B had taken off for 2B, then you would have INT, IF if affected the defense's ability to make a play.

wadeintothem Tue Mar 10, 2009 07:54am

"Nice try coach lets play ball".

Chess Ref Tue Mar 10, 2009 07:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadeintothem (Post 586937)
"Nice try coach lets play ball".

LOL

Though I didn't use those exact words that was my thoughts and ruling on the play.

Just started having second thoughts on the way home. :cool:

AtlUmpSteve Tue Mar 10, 2009 08:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref (Post 586916)
So we have R2 on 3b. R1 on 2B.

Just an aside, but we either have R1 on 3B and R2 on 2B, or we have a whole 'nother rule violation.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Mar 10, 2009 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref (Post 586916)
So we have R2 on 3b. R1 on 2B. Walk to the batter. Then R1 gets confused and ends up sharing up the third base with R2.
After I call R1 out at 3B, she gets even more confused. So she runs back to second base. Draws a throw cause the defense is just as clueless as the offense as to whats going on.
So talking with the DC after the dust had settled he tried to sell me "interference for a retired runner drawing a throw". Nice verbiage coach . He wanted another out because the throw to F6 prevented them from making a play on the BR who had rounded 1B in the middle of all this. I wasn't buying it though. Then I got to thinking maybe he had a point..:(
Would you have come up with another out for the drawing a throw ?

So, R1 is on 3B and the defense throws the ball to 2B as the BR/R3 rounded 1B. Sounds like the correct move to stop that runner from advancing. "Sit down, coach. You defense made the correct play."

Chess Ref Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 586965)
So, R1 is on 3B and the defense throws the ball to 2B as the BR/R3 rounded 1B. Sounds like the correct move to stop that runner from advancing. "Sit down, coach. You defense made the correct play."

R1,in the confusion, ran back towards 2B....And F5 threw the ball to 2B. So they ended up retagging the runner I had already called out.

I hope that makes sense.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref (Post 587366)
R1,in the confusion, ran back towards 2B....And F5 threw the ball to 2B. So they ended up retagging the runner I had already called out.

I hope that makes sense.

I meant R1 as the lead runner. You obviously missed the point that AFAIC, the fielder was throwing to 2B to hold the BR/R at 1B.

Chess Ref Wed Mar 11, 2009 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 587369)
I meant R1 as the lead runner. You obviously missed the point that AFAIC, the fielder was throwing to 2B to hold the BR/R at 1B.

Got the point now. :cool:

CecilOne Wed Mar 11, 2009 05:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 586945)
Just an aside, but we either have R1 on 3B and R2 on 2B, or we have a whole 'nother rule violation.

I can't tell if R2 is out for passing R1 or they switched places. :p :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1