The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Play (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/52052-play.html)

wadeintothem Wed Mar 04, 2009 02:32pm

Interesting differentiation,

I'm at work and without a rule book and since I'm not working HS ball this year I have not studied up on NFHS --

It seems in NFHS's effort to write it a different way, they (IMO inadvertantly) change entire interpretations.

This is the same thing as leaving "play" out of interference.

I still got a noncall, if I'm on the field right now, and i guess the wrong call.. but I'm not calling OBS on a fielder in the immediate act of fielding a batted ball.

The ONLY reason step and reach is an issue ever is because the fielder is relocating, conceivably into a new new path, and receiving further/extra protection -

To me, since deflection is not the issue - the fielder still in the same position immediately after the miss (ie a dive, or bending over whatever - still in the immediate act - although ultimately unsucessful) that is still fielding the ball.

Since NFHS is not interested in "fielding the ball" I suppose I should bow out of the discussion and leave it to you NFHS gurus.

topper Wed Mar 04, 2009 03:05pm

Quote:

c. Fails to gain control of the batted ball and is within a step and a reach (in any direction) of the spot of the initial contact.
This seems to support Wade's case. If this is an exact quote from the rule book, it makes no mention of the position of the ball, just the fielder. Interesting.

Dakota Wed Mar 04, 2009 03:31pm

Quote:

c. Fails to gain control of the batted ball and is within a step and a reach (in any direction) of the spot of the initial contact.
Quote:

Originally Posted by topper (Post 585443)
This seems to support Wade's case. If this is an exact quote from the rule book, it makes no mention of the position of the ball, just the fielder. Interesting.

Interesting; I hadn't noticed that, but I suspect it is an editorial error, similar to the one in b. Notice the wording in the NFHS Case Play dealing with this rule:
Quote:

INITIAL PLAY
2.47.3 SITUATION A:
With R1 on second base, B2 hits a ground ball to F6. The ball deflects off of F6's arm and lands (a) one step in front or to the side of her; (b) one step behind her; (c) more than one step behind her; or (d) more than one step in front of her. In all situations, as F6 attempts to make a play on the ball, R1 makes contact with F6, preventing her from getting to the ball. RULING: In (a) and (b), the ball is dead and R1 is out for interfering with the initial play on a batted ball. In (c) and (d), since F6 is not within a "step and a reach" of the ball, F6 is guilty of obstruction for impeding R1. (2-36; 2-47-2; 8-4-3b; 8-6-10a)

CajunNewBlue Wed Mar 04, 2009 04:34pm

voila... gotta love the caseplays.

wadeintothem Wed Mar 04, 2009 09:41pm

Thats pretty conclusive.. not sure I agree with it, but that doesnt matter - definitely the rule. Obviously the same thing would apply to a diving play and I'm not sure about that; but no doubt how they want it called. I guess the moral is: catch it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1