The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA Case Play 1-57 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/51623-asa-case-play-1-57-a.html)

IRISHMAFIA Thu Feb 12, 2009 09:49pm

ASA Case Play 1-57
 
With no outs and R1 on 3B, B2 hits a fly ball to right field that is caught. Prior to the ball reaching F9, (a) F5 yells ‘‘go,’’ or (b) the coach for the defense in the 3B dugout yells ‘‘go.’’ In both cases, R1 leaves 3B too soon and the defense properly appeals.

RULING: R1 is not out. Although this is a distracting act, there is no penalty for a defensive player or a coach yelling. R1 should know their own coach’s voice and instructions. (1-OBSTRUCTION-B)

Pulled this out of the new Case Book. You think they kicked this one?

Tru_in_Blu Thu Feb 12, 2009 09:57pm

tied up in nots
 
Well, assuming you typed it correctly, the explanation doesn't seem to match up with the ruling.

Could just be the inclusion of that little word "not". Probably "not" a big deal.

Ted

IRISHMAFIA Thu Feb 12, 2009 10:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 578865)
Well, assuming you typed it correctly, the explanation doesn't seem to match up with the ruling.

Could just be the inclusion of that little word "not". Probably "not" a big deal.

Ted

Here's a shock: ASA did not protect this file, it is copied.

Dakota Thu Feb 12, 2009 10:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 578869)
Here's a shock: ASA did not protect this file, it is copied.

Even if they did, pdf unlocking utilities are easily found and downloaded... (don't ask me how I know... ;) )

SRW Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:34am

Mike, check the 2007 case book. I think this same play is in there (both my book and my PDF are at home at the moment.)

Dakota Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW (Post 579032)
Mike, check the 2007 case book. I think this same play is in there (both my book and my PDF are at home at the moment.)

From the (used to be protected) 2007 Case Book:
Quote:

Originally Posted by PLAY 1-80
With no outs and R1 on 3B, B2 hits a fly ball to right field that is caught. Prior to the ball reaching F9, (a) F5 yells ‘‘go,’’ or (b) the coach for the defense in the 3B dugout yells ‘‘go.’’ In both cases, R1 leaves 3B too soon and the defense properly appeals.
RULING: R1 is out. Although this is a distracting act, there is no penalty for a defensive player or a coach yelling. R1 should know their own coach’s voice and instructions. (1-OBSTRUCTION-B)


wadeintothem Sat Feb 14, 2009 01:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 578860)
With no outs and R1 on 3B, B2 hits a fly ball to right field that is caught. Prior to the ball reaching F9, (a) F5 yells ‘‘go,’’ or (b) the coach for the defense in the 3B dugout yells ‘‘go.’’ In both cases, R1 leaves 3B too soon and the defense properly appeals.

RULING: R1 is not out. Although this is a distracting act, there is no penalty for a defensive player or a coach yelling. R1 should know their own coach’s voice and instructions. (1-OBSTRUCTION-B)

Pulled this out of the new Case Book. You think they kicked this one?

I think it is a good ruling and agree with it in principle and in the spirit of the rules.

BretMan Sat Feb 14, 2009 09:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadeintothem (Post 579348)
I think it is a good ruling...

Which one? The one that says the runner is out and gives the reasoning, or the one that says she's not out and gives the exact same reason! :eek:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1