The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   in the batters box (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/51570-batters-box.html)

Little Jimmy Tue Feb 10, 2009 10:25pm

in the batters box
 
Tonight at one of our high school clinics this came up. Another umpire and myself had a disagreement about what constitutes being in the batters box prior to the pitch. I said the feet can touch the line but no part of the foot could be over (outside the line).My fellow ump said feet could be over the line so long as any part of the foot was touching the line (for example, heal touching line with the majority of the foot outside). At the time of the disagreement I thought I was right(unless I'd lost my mind) but couldn't find it covered in the Fed book. I said I would look further when I was home.

I'm home. I found what I was looking for in the 2008 ASA book (7-3-A) but can't find anything corresponding in the Fed book. Am I missing something? If indeed it is not stated has it been addressed at any level? I need a Fed rule to hang my hat on.

MGKBLUE Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Little Jimmy (Post 577931)
Tonight at one of our high school clinics this came up. Another umpire and myself had a disagreement about what constitutes being in the batters box prior to the pitch. I said the feet can touch the line but no part of the foot could be over (outside the line).My fellow ump said feet could be over the line so long as any part of the foot was touching the line (for example, heal touching line with the majority of the foot outside). At the time of the disagreement I thought I was right(unless I'd lost my mind) but couldn't find it covered in the Fed book. I said I would look further when I was home.

I'm home. I found what I was looking for in the 2008 ASA book (7-3-A) but can't find anything corresponding in the Fed book. Am I missing something? If indeed it is not stated has it been addressed at any level? I need a Fed rule to hang my hat on.


At the Case Book Play 7.4.8 for your answer.

"The batter is considered to be in the batter's box waiting for a pitch when no part of either foot is touching ground outside the boundary lines forming the batter's box."

BretMan Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:36pm

FED defines it in their Case Book (7.4.8).

Your "fellow ump" was describing where the feet can be when the batter contacts the pitch with the bat.

You were right in regards to where the feet can be as the batter prepares to receive the pitch.

Two completely different situations, covered by two completely different rules.

Little Jimmy Wed Feb 11, 2009 06:34am

Thanks. I neglected to look in the casebook. Now I see it in front of me. It's a simple, and somewhat obvious, thing but the mention in the ASA rulebook makes it strightforward. I wouldn't mind seeing a sentence inserted in Feds rulebook.

BretMan Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:14am

Sometimes, the FED works in mysterious ways...

AtlUmpSteve Wed Feb 11, 2009 01:20pm

NCAA rulebook goes so far as to define the difference between being "within" (no part may extend past a line) and when allowed "on" (must be touching some part, the rest can be beyond), referencing any and all line issues in an appendix


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1