![]() |
coach physically assists runner
NFHS Rule (3-5-4) states that a coach may not physically assist a runner during playing action. The penalty for this states: "The runner is out and the ball is in play". Is this considered a delayed dead ball?
|
The rule you quote says the ball remains "in play" (ie: live).
The other place this rule is addressed is 8-6-4, which notes that "the ball is in play and the (assisted) runner is out". The infraction of assisting a runner isn't listed under Rule 5, which covers all dead ball and delayed dead ball situations, nor does it appear in either the dead ball or delayed dead ball tables. A reasonable person could conclude from those rules and tables that NFHS does not consider this to be a delayed dead ball situation. That is, until you read their Case Book... Case Plays 3.5.4 A & C both instruct the umpire to "declare a dead ball once the play has been completed". Isn't that exactly how a delayed dead ball works? :confused: |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27pm. |