The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Saw this one last night... (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/5150-saw-one-last-night.html)

davearm Wed Jun 12, 2002 11:54am

First post, wondering what the experts can tell me about this play from our game last night:

1 Out, runners on 1st and 3rd. Batter hits fly ball to LF; catch is made for out #2. Runner from 3rd tags up and scores. Runner from 1st forgets how many outs there are and jogs toward the dugout. Throw from LF to SS to 1B to put out the runner who didn't tag up for out #3. DOES THE RUN COUNT? ASA rules apply.

Thanks in advance folks!

shipwreck Wed Jun 12, 2002 12:02pm

Yes it counts. This is a live ball appeal which is a timing play not a force out. Dave

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jun 12, 2002 12:52pm

The run scores if the runner on third base touched homeplate before the out at first base was made.

SamNVa Wed Jun 12, 2002 01:16pm

On a side note, if the runner on 1st entered the dugout <b>before</b> the runner on 3rd touched home, she would be out for abandonment and <b>the run would not count</b>. No appeal would be necessary.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1