The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW View Post
Do you return R1 to 3B and negate the run?

Does 7.2.D.2 Effect B only apply to the immediate previous PLAY, or the entire AT-BAT?
IMO, you need to look at 7.2.D-1 and D-2 together.

D-1 covers the time at bat of an incorrect batter. When discovered, there is no penalty. All play (base stealing, runs scoring, runner picked off) stands, and the batter is replaced with the correct batter.

D-2 covers the action that terminates the incorrect batter's time at bat. Anything resulting from that play is examined and penalties are assessed. Runners are returned, scores are negated, and the proper batter called out. Any other outs achieved by the defense during the play will stand.

Thus the run that occured prior to the play that ended the incorrect batter's time at bat stands.


WMB
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1