The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 07:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Even if the defense had appealed before B3 singled (i.e., immediately after the wild pitch), R1's advance would still be legal, and the run would count. In that case, B2 would simply replace B3 in the batter's box and assume the count.

However, ASA differs from other codes in a certain respect: (FP) R1 on 3B, no outs. Ball 4 to B3 (batting instead of B2) bounces off F2's shinguard and into DBT. R1 scores, and B3 goes to 1B. In ASA, on a BOO appeal by the defense, B2 would be out, R1 would return to 3B, and B3 would bat again. But in NCAA (and OBR), R1's run would count, since the advance was not a result of anything the batter did.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!

Last edited by greymule; Fri Jan 30, 2009 at 07:13pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule View Post
But in NCAA (and OBR), R1's run would count, since the advance was not a result of anything the batter did.
Sure it did. She completed another batter's turn at bat and became a BR.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1