The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Detachable equipement (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/5098-detachable-equipement.html)

Larry Wed Jun 05, 2002 02:04pm

While during a game the other night, no outs , runners on 1st and 2nd, when the batter hit a fly over the short stop head about 50 feet. The short stop throws his glove into the air, althought missing the ball about five feet. Question: Because the glove did not contact the ball, should the batter be awarded four bases. Thanks !

Dakota Wed Jun 05, 2002 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Larry
While during a game the other night, no outs , runners on 1st and 2nd, when the batter hit a fly over the short stop head about 50 feet. The short stop throws his glove into the air, althought missing the ball about five feet. Question: Because the glove did not contact the ball, should the batter be awarded four bases. Thanks !

Not in ASA. If there is no contact, there is no violation.

If there was contact, for the award to be 4 bases, the umpire would have to judge the ball would have cleared the outfield fence in flight. Otherwise, it is a three base award from the time of the pitch. ASA 8-6-F.

Jeffhead Wed Jun 05, 2002 02:15pm

No

Larry Thu Jun 06, 2002 12:52am

Thanks, for responsing!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1