The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2008, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
3-1 count, no outs, bases empty. Pitch is low, batter swings and misses, F2 controls the ball after it hits the dirt. Batter takes off for 1B as if it was a dropped 3K. F2 throws to F3.

Ball 4?
Is it ball 4? I don't have book at work but there is wording about when this is in effect (the ball on the batter penalty) is is limited to attempting to get a runner out? Or if there is a runner on base? Looking for the wording in this. Would it allow this throw to attempt to make a play on the batter-runner, which is a runner right? So I am asking since F2 was attempting to make a play on the BR would they be released from the must return to F1 rule?

Or taking it one step further is there any "release" from the F2 to F1 rule based on the actions of the batter-runner?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
college catcher warming up pitcher shipwreck Softball 15 Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:50am
Catcher sues baserunner for collision (co-ed ball) Dakota Softball 32 Thu Apr 19, 2007 01:14pm
catcher stepping and meeting the ball fastballbaker Baseball 1 Wed Oct 20, 2004 09:58am
Runner Knocks Ball From Catcher James V Softball 25 Tue Jun 15, 2004 08:47pm
Ball 4 Deflects off the Catcher GerryBlue Baseball 4 Mon Jul 28, 2003 02:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1