The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   foul tip or foul ball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/48243-foul-tip-foul-ball.html)

shipwreck Sat Sep 06, 2008 04:18pm

foul tip or foul ball
 
I seem to remember this discussion a while ago but don't remember the answer. We had this happen today in a HS Federation game. 2 strikes and the batter hits ball directly and sharply back. Ball first contacts the catcher's mitt and then her chest protector. She then grabs the ball with her bare hand and secures it against the CP. The rule book says it is a foul tip if the ball goes sharply and directly to the catcher's mitt or bare hand and is secured by the catcher. It doesn't mention what happens if it happens in the order that I describe. It seems to me both requirements for a foul tip have been met but am not sure if when it hit the CP if that made it a foul ball or not. I cannot find an exact play like this in the case book. Any help would be appreciated. Dave

Dakota Sat Sep 06, 2008 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shipwreck
I seem to remember this discussion a while ago but don't remember the answer. We had this happen today in a HS Federation game. 2 strikes and the batter hits ball directly and sharply back. Ball first contacts the catcher's mitt and then her chest protector. She then grabs the ball with her bare hand and secures it against the CP. The rule book says it is a foul tip if the ball goes sharply and directly to the catcher's mitt or bare hand and is secured by the catcher. It doesn't mention what happens if it happens in the order that I describe. It seems to me both requirements for a foul tip have been met but am not sure if when it hit the CP if that made it a foul ball or not. I cannot find an exact play like this in the case book. Any help would be appreciated. Dave

This would be a foul tip, with the possible issue that this may not be a legal catch. I've underlined the problem phrase (for me) in your description.

The rule book says "caught by the catcher", not "secured". Trapping the ball against the catcher's equipment is not a legal catch. If the catcher made a legal catch, you have a foul tip. If not, a foul ball.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Sep 06, 2008 05:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
This would be a foul tip, with the possible issue that this may not be a legal catch. I've underlined the problem phrase (for me) in your description.

The rule book says "caught by the catcher", not "secured". Trapping the ball against the catcher's equipment is not a legal catch. If the catcher made a legal catch, you have a foul tip. If not, a foul ball.

Unless this ball drops to the ground, is it not "caught" the moment the catcher securely holds the ball in his/her hand?

shipwreck Sat Sep 06, 2008 05:57pm

At some time the catcher must have the ball in her bare hand in order to get it back to the pitcher or roll the ball to pitcher's circle. I thought if it hadn't touched the ground at this point, it would be a foul tip. My PU partner simply called it a foul ball. I said I was pretty sure it was a foul tip, but since I wasn't 100% sure, we left it at a foul ball. I think we got it wrong. Dave

7in60 Sat Sep 06, 2008 08:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shipwreck
At some time the catcher must have the ball in her bare hand in order to get it back to the pitcher or roll the ball to pitcher's circle. I thought if it hadn't touched the ground at this point, it would be a foul tip. My PU partner simply called it a foul ball. I said I was pretty sure it was a foul tip, but since I wasn't 100% sure, we left it at a foul ball. I think we got it wrong. Dave

You got it right. If the ball goes directly to her glove but isn't caught at that moment, it's just a foul ball.

Dakota Sat Sep 06, 2008 09:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Unless this ball drops to the ground, is it not "caught" the moment the catcher securely holds the ball in his/her hand?

Yes, and it probably was a catch, but "securely hold the ball in her hand" was not what he said. He said she secured it against the chest protector.

Dakota Sat Sep 06, 2008 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 7in60
You got it right. If the ball goes directly to her glove but isn't caught at that moment, it's just a foul ball.

That is not correct. It doesn't need to be caught "at that moment." It just needs to be caught by the catcher.

snorman75 Sat Sep 06, 2008 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
That is not correct. It doesn't need to be caught "at that moment." It just needs to be caught by the catcher.

It needs to be direct to mitt or hand. It needs to be caught "clean". Anything else is a foul ball.

This is a foul ball since the ball did not go directly to either the mitt or hand.

Dakota Sat Sep 06, 2008 10:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
It needs to be direct to mitt or hand. It needs to be caught "clean". Anything else is a foul ball.

This is a foul ball since the ball did not go directly to either the mitt or hand.

It didn't?
Quote:

Originally Posted by shipwreck
...the batter hits ball directly and sharply back. Ball first contacts the catcher's mitt...

You have a significant misunderstanding of the foul tip rule. The batted ball DOES need to go directly back and first contact the catcher's hand or glove, but after it does that, the ball does NOT need to be caught "clean" - it merely needs to be legally caught by the catcher.

cruzercapt Sat Sep 06, 2008 11:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
You have a significant misunderstanding of the foul tip rule. The batted ball DOES need to go directly back and first contact the catcher's hand or glove...

True,

Quote:

but after it does that, the ball does NOT need to be caught "clean" - it merely needs to be legally caught by the catcher.
Not true. The legal catch must occur before the ball contacts anything else, including the chest protector, mask, umpire, etc.

Additionally, a ball trapped against the chest protector is not legally caught.

David

bluezebra Sat Sep 06, 2008 11:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cruzercapt
True,



Not true. The legal catch must occur before the ball contacts anything else, including the chest protector, mask, umpire, etc.

Additionally, a ball trapped against the chest protector is not legally caught.

David

Try reading the FED rule.

Bob

cruzercapt Sat Sep 06, 2008 11:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bluezebra
Try reading the FED rule.

Bob

I take it that there is a difference between FED and the rest of the softball world?

Can somebody please post the rule reference/quote?

Thanks

David

snorman75 Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:42am

It is a foul tip. The reason why is the word "and" in the rule, not "then".

To be a foul tip it says the ball need to be directly to the mitt or hand and legally caught. Once the ball does anything but go directly to the mitt or hand the first part rule is no longer fulfilled and we have a foul ball.

P.S. using ASA, sorry no FED book.

Dakota Sun Sep 07, 2008 08:55am

From NFHS Case Book:
Quote:

2.25 COMMENT: Determining when a ball becomes dead on a foul is sometimes tricky....(4) A pitch touches the bat of
B2. In (a), it goes directly to the catcher's glove then caroms against her protector and rebounds into her hand or glove; or (b) it goes directly to catcher's protector or mask and rebounds into her hand or glove. In (a), it is a foul tip and a catch. The ball remains live. In (b), the ball becomes dead when it touches the body of F2.
From the ASA Case Book:
Quote:

PLAY 1-59
The ball goes directly from the bat and (a) first touches F2’s glove or hand and then rebounds to the chest protector, or (b) strikes F2’s body, protective equipment or the umpire. In both cases, the ball rebounds into the glove or hand of F2 and is securely held.
RULING: In (a) a foul tip and a strike is ruled. In (b) it is a foul ball. The ball cannot be a foul tip if it first touches anything other than the catcher’s glove or hand. (1-FOUL BALL-G; 1-FOUL TIP; 7-4D)
As I said, you (two) have a significant misunderstanding of the foul tip rule.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Sep 07, 2008 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Yes, and it probably was a catch, but "securely hold the ball in her hand" was not what he said. He said she secured it against the chest protector.

That is true, but how was the ball released? As previously noted. unless the ball is just allowed to drop to the ground from the trapped position or fumbled and dropped, it must have been held securely in the hand at some point prior to the release of the ball by the catcher.

Dholloway1962 Sun Sep 07, 2008 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
That is true, but how was the ball released? As previously noted. unless the ball is just allowed to drop to the ground from the trapped position or fumbled and dropped, it must have been held securely in the hand at some point prior to the release of the ball by the catcher.

Agreed....that piece of the puzzle is missing.

Tex Sun Sep 07, 2008 01:47pm

The ball goes Sharply & Directly to catcher's glove or hand And is ultimately caught by catcher (it can bounce from the glove or hand to the chest, head, etc. and still be caught). FOUL TIP

http://www.cactusumpires.com/pages/s.../foul-tip.html

shipwreck Sun Sep 07, 2008 04:03pm

I was correct on the field when I said it was a foul tip, but like I said, wasn't 100% sure at the time so didn't push the issue. Now with the help from some of you, I can see it was a foul tip, no doubt. It surely was a protestable ruling. I am glad it happened in a relative blowout, with the coach oblivious to the correct ruling. It was a good learning experience. Dave

greymule Sun Sep 07, 2008 05:06pm

A few months ago, we discussed the following play in ASA:

Ball goes sharp and direct off the bat, hits the catcher's hand, ricochets to her shoulder, and gets trapped behind the chest protector. Since in ASA a ball trapped in a defensive player's equipment is in play, if the catcher reaches in and secures the ball in her hand, this is a foul tip, regardless of how long it took her to secure the ball.

However, if the ball falls out onto the ground, or if the pitcher reaches in and pulls it out, it's just a foul ball.

I'm not sure whether Fed would consider that a foul tip (i.e., whether a ball trapped in a defensive player's equipment is in play—in NCAA, it's just a foul ball).

I'm also not sure whether in Fed a player other than the catcher can catch a foul tip. In ASA, it must be the catcher.

shipwreck Sun Sep 07, 2008 05:46pm

greymule, in Federation all action has to be by the catcher. If another fielder touches the ball it is just like it touched the ground. So you say NCAA has a different rule? Dave

greymule Sun Sep 07, 2008 08:25pm

So you say NCAA has a different rule?

NCAA is different from ASA as regards a ball trapped/lodged in a defensive player's equipment. In ASA, the ball is live; not so in NCAA. I don't know Fed's rule on this, though I seem to remember that in Fed baseball, it's a dead ball.

If as you say only the catcher in Fed can catch a foul tip, then Fed is in line with NCAA and ASA.

There's some code under which any defensive player can catch a foul tip. Maybe that's Fed baseball.

snorman75 Sun Sep 07, 2008 09:46pm

Sh#T, My bad.

I do have another question I have done what 20-40+ FB games a year for 8 years and countless baseball games for last 20 years and I really do not really ever remember this happen.

I have seen the ball go everywhere but never a foul tip hit the mitt or hand first and then come lose and then be caught.

Counting this thread we have heard about it twice, right? has some of you seen this more then that? and did you call it right?

IRISHMAFIA Mon Sep 08, 2008 07:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
Sh#T, My bad.

I do have another question I have done what 20-40+ FB games a year for 8 years and countless baseball games for last 20 years and I really do not really ever remember this happen.

There is a "foul tip" in football?

greymule Mon Sep 08, 2008 08:22am

There is a "foul tip" in football?

Yes. It involves point spreads.

Skahtboi Mon Sep 08, 2008 08:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
There is a "foul tip" in football?

Yes. It involves point spreads.

Lord knows I've had more than my share of those "foul tips."

IRISHMAFIA Mon Sep 08, 2008 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
Lord knows I've had more than my share of those "foul tips."

Well, I don't bet based on "tips" from anyone. But I have found that the closer to the game the person is offering the "tip", the more unreliable it is.

Chess Ref Mon Sep 08, 2008 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Well, I don't bet based on "tips" from anyone. But I have found that the closer to the game the person is offering the "tip", the more unreliable it is.

I definetly agree with this one.

Fresh out of college. I went to UNLV so we were always looking for a "tip"....High school buddy is now the bullpen catcher for a MLB team. I get the call. IT's a lock, we're gonna clean up.:D Between five of us we come up with about $6,000 thousand dollars.

Three of us settle in to watch the game. By the bottom of the second inning we're now chasing 4 runs.:mad: Did I mention it's a LOCK. So Irish's statement gave me a chuckle.

Now I pick my losers like everybody else. Einey,meany, miney, mo......:cool:

Skahtboi Mon Sep 08, 2008 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref
Between five of us we come up with about $6,000 thousand dollars.

So...does this mean that you blew $6,000,000 on one bet??? :eek: :D

Dakota Mon Sep 08, 2008 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
So...does this mean that you blew $6,000,000 on one bet??? :eek: :D

Even worse, a bet on a BASEBALL GAME??? http://www.clicksmilies.com/s1106/sp...smilie/mad.gif

Chess Ref Mon Sep 08, 2008 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
So...does this mean that you blew $6,000,000 on one bet??? :eek: :D

It was six thousand dollars-not 6 hundred thousand..Well my share was about $1200. Hey it was a LOCK. Couldn't lose. Had insider information.

That and we were all pretty young and living the Vegas life.....

Nowadays a hundred dollar bet can bring me to tears......

NCASAUmp Mon Sep 08, 2008 10:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref
It was six thousand dollars-not 6 hundred thousand..Well my share was about $1200. Hey it was a LOCK. Couldn't lose. Had insider information.

That and we were all pretty young and living the Vegas life.....

Nowadays a hundred dollar bet can bring me to tears......

Shouldn't bet on your own games. ;)

IRISHMAFIA Mon Sep 08, 2008 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Shouldn't bet on your own games. ;)

As an official or player/coach/manager?

DaveASA/FED Tue Sep 09, 2008 09:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
As an official or player/coach/manager?

E) All of the above

IRISHMAFIA Tue Sep 09, 2008 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED
E) All of the above

I'm a firm believer in players and coaches should not only being allowed, but mandated to bet on their own team every game.

AFAIC, as long as Pete Rose did not bet against his team, he isn't guilty of anything except for having a lousy personality.

Sports officials should be able to bet on anything that does not directly involved games officiated.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1