The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Just out of curiosity (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/47893-just-out-curiosity.html)

MNBlue Fri Aug 29, 2008 02:11pm

Just out of curiosity
 
Has anyone actually witnessed something like this:

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
Batter hits a ball off the fence, misses 1B, touches 2B, and is on his way to 3B when the throw from the outfield appears to be in time to get him. But the throw bounces through and hits DBT a moment before the BR slides into 3B. The umpire awards home. In ASA, that runner can return to 2B, correct his error at 1B, and then take his award.

I've been umpiring softball for over 20 years and it would seem to me that IF a runner would admit to missing a base, and having the ball going into DBT, awarding bases to the runner, the runner actually going back and touching, in the correct manner, it would be a once in a lifetime occurance, if that often.

Or, maybe I should do more slow pitch to see stuff like this.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Aug 29, 2008 06:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNBlue
Has anyone actually witnessed something like this:

Actually, it is more likely to happen on a base left early on a fly ball and just as likely to happen in youth FP as it is in SP since many girls are on steal and round 2nd before realizing what was happening.

Chess Ref Sat Aug 30, 2008 05:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Actually, it is more likely to happen on a base left early on a fly ball and just as likely to happen in youth FP as it is in SP since many girls are on steal and round 2nd before realizing what was happening.

Had this happen on the left early deal. R1 on 1B and he rounded second,ball was caught and he ran straight back across the infield. I rang him up.:) He told me he didn't know what to do so he took the shortest path back to 1B.:cool:

argodad Sat Aug 30, 2008 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref
Had this happen on the left early deal. R1 on 1B and he rounded second,ball was caught and he ran straight back across the infield. I rang him up.:) He told me he didn't know what to do so he took the shortest path back to 1B.:cool:

Did you wait for defense to appeal?

blueskysblue Sun Aug 31, 2008 11:29am

Once a baserunner contacts the next base, and the "ball becomes dead", isn't the runner prohibited from returning to touch either a missed base, or a base left early?

Or, is that FED?

IRISHMAFIA Sun Aug 31, 2008 11:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blueskysblue
Once a baserunner contacts the next base, and the "ball becomes dead", isn't the runner prohibited from returning to touch either a missed base, or a base left early?

Or, is that FED?

Speaking ASA

A runner may not return to touch a base missed or left too soon once they touch the next awarded base. That is why umpires are directed to hesitate prior to making an award of bases.

Chess Ref Mon Sep 01, 2008 08:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by argodad
Did you wait for defense to appeal?

I thought I handled it right.

But lets verify.

Ball caught, runner past next base, he runs directly acroos infield back to 1B.

F6 with ball in glove, now standing on 2B, says to me "He missed 2B blue". So I rang him up....

argodad Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref
I thought I handled it right.


F6 with ball in glove, now standing on 2B, says to me "He missed 2B blue". So I rang him up....

Live ball appeal. Yep -- you got it right. :cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1