The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 25, 2002, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:
Originally posted by jumpmaster
ASA Rules, Fastpitch softball

...comes to rest touching the front left-hand corner of the plate...
The plate is entirely in fair territory, just like in baseball.

The fair/foul call is based on the position of the ball when touched, just like baseball.

If I am visualizing correctly your description of where the ball was (completely or mostly in fair terriory, resting against the edge of the plate), it sounds to me like the umpire kicked it.

Was the ball actually in foul territory just resting against the "foul side" of the plate? If so, I can see a foul ball call.
If the ball is touching the plate, it's FAIR. Just like touching 1B or 3B.

Bob
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1