The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Ball caught in DBT (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/46933-ball-caught-dbt.html)

rwest Mon Aug 04, 2008 11:09pm

Ball caught in DBT
 
Per Fed a fly ball caught AND then carried into DBT is a one base award to all runners on base. But what if the fielder is already in DBT when the fly ball is caught. It is not a catch, per rule, and I'm assuming there is no awarded bases. Correct?

Thanks in advance!
Randall

mick Tue Aug 05, 2008 06:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
Per Fed a fly ball caught AND then carried into DBT is a one base award to all runners on base. But what if the fielder is already in DBT when the fly ball is caught. It is not a catch, per rule, and I'm assuming there is no awarded bases. Correct?

Thanks in advance!
Randall

Treat the play the same as if a fan caught the ball. ;)

IRISHMAFIA Tue Aug 05, 2008 07:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
Per Fed a fly ball caught AND then carried into DBT is a one base award to all runners on base. But what if the fielder is already in DBT when the fly ball is caught. It is not a catch, per rule, and I'm assuming there is no awarded bases. Correct?

Thanks in advance!
Randall

Why would you award bases on a foul ball?

Skahtboi Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Why would you award bases on a foul ball?

Because it was caught. Can't you advance on a caught foul ball?? :D

But seriously, this is the same as a batted ball that has gone over the fence in foul territory. No bases to be awarded.

DaveASA/FED Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:30am

well that depends it might be a home run, if the fielder tore through the portable fence and caught the ball past the home run fence boundry line! Right? Agreed if in any other DBT no movement.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
Because it was caught. Can't you advance on a caught foul ball?? :D

Anyone ever refer to you as a troublemaker?:rolleyes:

DaveASA/FED Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
Because it was caught. Can't you advance on a caught foul ball?? :D

NO you can advance on a ball caught in foul territory, but once a ball is foul it can't be caught for an out so you can't advance on it! :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1