The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 16, 2002, 11:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by artsypants
This is in high school fast pitch softball. With a runner on first, the batter hits a pop up on the first base foul line. The catcher tries to make the catch but misses the ball. The plate umpire calls a foul ball, however the batter continued to first and the base runner to third. The offensive team argued that the catcher touched the ball in fair territory. The umpires conferred. The field umpire thought that the catcher touched the ball in fair territory, so the plate umpire allowed the batter to remain on first, but sent the base runner back to second. Is this the correct call? If so, how can play be continued any at all when an umpire calls "foul ball" if that is considered the signal for a dead ball?
Sounds like the dinner bell to me.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1