The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 20, 2008, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I have a batter hit by a pitch

I read the OP that way, too, the first time. But I think "does the bunt thing" means "bunts the ball." So it was the batted ball, not the pitch, that hit the ground and bounced up into the batter, whose feet were in the box.

This is a foul unless the batter (even with feet in the box) obviously deliberately interferes with the ball over fair territory. Nothing in the OP suggests that this happened.

We don't know from the OP whether the ball was over fair or foul territory when the ball hit the batter. If the contact was over foul territory, then in ASA (not NCAA) the ball is foul even if the batter deliberately interferes.

Calling an out for "leaning" is utter nonsense.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1