The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Throwing the glove (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/46361-throwing-glove.html)

Chess Ref Tue Jul 15, 2008 09:33am

Throwing the glove
 
Just checking if Rule 8-5-F is the rule that is applied when you have a player throw a glove at the ball.

R1 on 2B, the batter gets a nice gap shot, the throw home is way over the F2's head, and F2 throws her glove up at the ball. The glove misses the ball.

I'm assumming if she had hit the ball you would award her 2 base from TOT.

Is my thinking going in the right direction on this one ?

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref
Just checking if Rule 8-5-F is the rule that is applied when you have a player throw a glove at the ball.

R1 on 2B, the batter gets a nice gap shot, the throw home is way over the F2's head, and F2 throws her glove up at the ball. The glove misses the ball.

I'm assumming if she had hit the ball you would award her 2 base from TOW.

Is my thinking going in the right direction on this one ?

Speaking ASA, 2 bases from TOT.

NCASAUmp Tue Jul 15, 2008 12:57pm

Mike's right. Just a note: it's only if the "detached equipment" touches the ball that we award bases. Simply throwing the glove isn't against the rules. Unless they throw it at us. Then it's on.

bluezebra Sat Jul 19, 2008 12:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref
Just checking if Rule 8-5-F is the rule that is applied when you have a player throw a glove at the ball.

R1 on 2B, the batter gets a nice gap shot, the throw home is way over the F2's head, and F2 throws her glove up at the ball. The glove misses the ball.

I'm assumming if she had hit the ball you would award her 2 base from TOT.

Is my thinking going in the right direction on this one ?

"I'm assumming if she had hit the ball you would award her 2 base from TOT. "

Award who? The catcher?

Bob

Chess Ref Sat Jul 19, 2008 07:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bluezebra
"I'm assumming if she had hit the ball you would award her 2 base from TOT. "

Award who? The catcher?

Bob

The BR who is now somewhere between 1b and 2b...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1