The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Force Out Timing (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/45834-force-out-timing.html)

bwbuddy Thu Jun 26, 2008 10:42am

Force Out Timing
 
This happened in ASA slowpitch, but I would assume the answer is the same for all diamond sports.

Runners on 1st and 2nd. Grounder to the pitcher, who throws the ball to the 3rd baseman who gloves it cleanly, while the runner is roughly 2 feet away. However, the runner then accidentally bumps the 3rd baseman, and dislodges the ball from the fielders' glove, causing the ball to fall to the ground.

Is the runner now safe, or was he out the instant the fielder caught the ball cleanly, since it was a force out?

NCASAUmp Thu Jun 26, 2008 10:47am

If the fielder had clean possession and control, it's a force out. If not, it sounds like you have interference, and the runner's out. Either way, you have an out. ;)

However, if you feel that the third baseman had an opportunity to make a double play on either R2 or the BR, then you can invoke ASA 8-7-P and get the trailing runner out, too.

Dholloway1962 Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:49am

If runner, after being put out, collides with the fielder then you have INT and the runner closest to home is out. Don't believe intent is required is it?
ASA rule 8-7-P

Dakota Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
If runner, after being put out, collides with the fielder then you have INT and the runner closest to home is out. Don't believe intent is required is it?
ASA rule 8-7-P

No, not quite. The fielder also has to have an opportunity to make a play on another runner.

NCASAUmp Thu Jun 26, 2008 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
If runner, after being put out, collides with the fielder then you have INT and the runner closest to home is out. Don't believe intent is required is it?
ASA rule 8-7-P

An INT call will always require there to be a possible play on a runner. If there's no possible play on any runner, you can't have INT.

As for your second question, no, intent is not required in this case.

NYBLUE Thu Jun 26, 2008 08:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bwbuddy
This happened in ASA slowpitch, but I would assume the answer is the same for all diamond sports.

Runners on 1st and 2nd. Grounder to the pitcher, who throws the ball to the 3rd baseman who gloves it cleanly, while the runner is roughly 2 feet away. However, the runner then accidentally bumps the 3rd baseman, and dislodges the ball from the fielders' glove, causing the ball to fall to the ground.

Is the runner now safe, or was he out the instant the fielder caught the ball cleanly, since it was a force out?

Did the 3rd baseman have control of the ball while on the bag (3rd)?
The OP made no mention of the actual base.

Dholloway1962 Thu Jun 26, 2008 08:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NYBLUE
Did the 3rd baseman have control of the ball while on the bag (3rd)?
The OP made no mention of the actual base.

Darn good point...I had just assumed it was on the bag!:eek:

Dakota Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bwbuddy
...Is the runner now safe, or was he out the instant the fielder caught the ball cleanly, since it was a force out?

This last sentence leads me to believe he was on the bag.

bwbuddy Fri Jun 27, 2008 06:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NYBLUE
Did the 3rd baseman have control of the ball while on the bag (3rd)?
The OP made no mention of the actual base.

On the base waiting.

CecilOne Fri Jun 27, 2008 06:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
This last sentence leads me to believe he was on the bag.

NOt to mention the title. :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1