![]() |
LL only--the dreaded circle rule
A debate among LL umpires last night (level of ball does not matter):
B1 walks, and, without hesitation, rounds 1B and heads for second. F1 receives ball from F2 and is in the circle (given: F1 does not fake or make a play for this entire sitch) before B1 arrives at first. Halfway to seccint, B1 stops and immediately returns to 1B. Your cherces: a) B1 is out as soon as she rounds 1B. b) Nuttin', honey. B1 is fine. c) B1 is called out as soon as she changes direction between 1B and 2B. Let the tension convention begin. Then I'll tell ya my interp (and, I believe, the RIM interp) on this play. Ace in CT |
Speaking ASA...BR is allowed one stop and must then must immediately move one way or the other. So my answer is B
|
Disclaimer: I am not a Little League umpire...
From previous discussions (one right here on this board, just a couple of months ago): The LL version of the Look Back Rule is identical to the ASA version- with one exception. The LL version (with respect to any other runners on base) goes into effect as soon as the batter becomes a batter-runner. The ASA version (and all others that I'm aware of) goes into effect when the batter-runner actually touches first base. No need for tension, debate or arguement on this one (unless you're a clueless coach that is fishing for an out). The runner has made a perfectly legal move and is now safely standing on first base. |
The problem with LL softball, and I am a vet here, (with four different Regional assignments) is inexperienced coaches looking for cheap outs.
I try to explain to coaches every year that the "circle rule" is meant to prevent runners from dancing off base after every pitch, trying to draw a throw, not to "freeze" continuous play. Ace in CT |
Tell 'em the pitcher's circle is not one big pause button.
|
Quote:
|
Maybe I'll see what I can do... ;)
|
not knowing LL rules, I got B
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54pm. |