![]() |
Broken Wrist
R1 is attempting to steal 2nd base. F2 fires a bullit to F6 covering 2B.
F6 makes a clean catch and puts the glove in front of the base as R1 slides into it. After the dust settles, F6 still has the ball in her glove, but the EMTs are called because F6 injured her wrist. When the EMT arrives, he gingerly removes the glove and the ball falls out. If you depend on a voluntary release to determine this call........ :D |
Because of "informed consent" laws, F6 had to have consented to her treatment by the EMTs. If she was unable to give actual consent, her consent would have been implied by operation of law.
Since she consented to their acts, their release of the ball from her glove was voluntary on her part, and R1 is out. Why yes, I am a lawyer, why do you ask? :D |
Quote:
|
I agree with pob14, as an EMT when I asked if she wanted me to help her screaming would be an implied concent and then I have control of the ball from that point:)
I also think we have one other point in a tag play,other action following the play. Once the control is seen for the umpire to judge the out then submental action can make the ball come out and it is still an out, this is probably Irish's point with this post I am guessing. Maybe there are some that would not call someone out if they touch first with the ball prior to the BR getting there then step toward home and drop the ball when the BR and F3 collide, but I am claiming there was control to get the out and the loss of control after the out when F3 was making another play. |
Quote:
If one is lawyer and umpire, he's the Devil and God unified in one person! Have mercy on us all....:o |
Quote:
|
Realizing you are posting keyboard-in-cheek, wouldn't the voluntary release requirement for the out end when you called time, which I assume you did before allowing EMT's on the field?
Hope that F6 got a big standing O for her guts. How old were they? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44pm. |