![]() |
What iffy play
(Actually, rather literally a dream play, since I was in fact dreaming when I saw this and probably never will.)
So, in my sitch, the pitcher gets the ball back with runners on 2 and 3 and 2 is off the base. She freezes and then moves toward third. The pitcher without making a play realizes the runner is committed to third and just stands there. Pretty soon we have two runners on third, and I'm trying to figure out what to do. Then one steps off. I call her out. The coach comes out to argue and I wake up. But it of course got me thinking, is the runner at 3rd considered off her base once the runner from 2nd gets there? Or vice versa? Can they both be stopped there until the pitcher makes a play? What if the pitcher decides to get set to pitch? Thoughts? ________ HOrnyPassion live |
Quote:
However, from reading your post, it sounds like you should have a LBR violation before the runner from second ever made it to third. You said she froze, then moved back to second, and then on to third. She should be out. |
If you legitimately end up with 2 runners on a base (could happen) and the pitcher keeps the ball in the circle without making a play, you call time and send the following runner back.
|
Quote:
|
|
Quote:
________ Redhead live |
I'd wait until the defense had the presence of mind to tag the second runner out.
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
________ IzabellaX |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Thanks, and what rule do I use to back that up?
I don't think it's in the ASA book in black and white. I asked that question a few years ago at clinic, and that's the answer I got (send the following runner back). You might make a case for "two runners cannot occupy a base," but I think that's weak. I did have that play happen, though. Two runners on 2B, and the pitcher ready to pitch. Needless to say, you won't see this at higher levels. |
Just hold the pitcher from pitching until someone figures this out?
|
Quote:
________ MariPoly |
As the plate umpire would you get set with two runners on a base? I think I would just be in my holding zone until someone on the defense did something. The play is not over.
Another way to look at this would be that the runner from 2nd is not legally entitled to 3rd as it is occupied. She is stopped so LBR could be called. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
First, 8-3-E says the second runner (the one not entitled to the base) "may be put out by being tagged..." It says nothing about any other way of being put out. Second, the LBR speaks of the runner being "off a base", or of advancing to the next base or retreating to the previous base. I maintain that if the runner is in contact with a base (any base), the runner cannot be ruled out for a LBR violation. She may be in jeopardy of being put out for other things (occupying a base to which she is not entitled, force out, etc.), but not LBR. Strangely, in NFHS, after a period of inactivity with no attempt to retire the runner, the umpire is to declare the ball dead and rule the runner out. See case play 8.3.3 SITUATION B. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
BTW, it's De Lorean. |
Official ASA Interpretation:
In this situation, when it is apparent that the pitcher is not going to make a play and the runner isn't leaving the base, the umpire is to call "Time" and return the trailing runner to the base previously touched. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
But seriously, I used to see him every morning, at least until I moved to the other side of town. Didn't see the flux capacitor, though. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40am. |