![]() |
Home Run?? What is the correct call?
What is the correct call or terminology? A batter hit a deep fly ball to the outfield fence and the outfielder reaches over the fence or even in the field of play and touches the ball with her glove. The ball then bounces out of the glove or hits her glove and goes over the fence. What is the correct ruling?
How does it go in the scorebook, A homerun, 4 base error or what? THanks |
Quote:
|
In most cases, the batter is credited with a home run, even where there's a home run limit and the official ruling becomes, as NCASAump says, a "four-base award."
Now if the fielder was standing a foot in front of the fence with plenty of time and room to make an easy catch, and then the ball went off the glove and over the fence, the scorer might rule a four-base error. Such a ball would of course still not count against the limit. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57am. |