The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Batting Box Issue (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/45020-batting-box-issue.html)

CecilOne Mon Jun 02, 2008 11:43am

Batting Box Issue
 
Now that we have beat up the commentators and umpires, I have an actual ruling question. Don't remember which game, but it does not matter, just the ongoing application for us.
There was a play when the batter was called out for the ball hitting the bat a second time. The umpire explained to the coach that "her front foot" was on the ground and out of the box when the ball hit the bat (still in her hands).

Regardless of when or who, do you call one foot out and one foot in as out of the box (an out) or in the box (a foul)? I remember a long thread on the forum as concluding that any foot in the box meant in the box. Recently, someone disagreed and then this NCWS umpire said "one foot" out of the box means out of the box.

What do you think/call and is there any written ruling support?

kcg NC2Ablu Mon Jun 02, 2008 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
Now that we have beat up the commentators and umpires, I have an actual ruling question. Don't remember which game, but it does not matter, just the ongoing application for us.
There was a play when the batter was called out for the ball hitting the bat a second time. The umpire explained to the coach that "her front foot" was on the ground and out of the box when the ball hit the bat (still in her hands).

Regardless of when or who, do you call one foot out and one foot in as out of the box (an out) or in the box (a foul)? I remember a long thread on the forum as concluding that any foot in the box meant in the box. Recently, someone disagreed and then this umpire said "one foot" out of the box means out of the box.

What do you think/call and is there any written ruling support?

when bat hits ball a second time out of the box ( regardless if its in hands or not) it is an out. I have to double check my rule NCAA book for the bat hits ball a second time in the box. how ever one foot ENTIRELY out of the box is out of the box and an out.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jun 02, 2008 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
Now that we have beat up the commentators and umpires, I have an actual ruling question. Don't remember which game, but it does not matter, just the ongoing application for us.
There was a play when the batter was called out for the ball hitting the bat a second time. The umpire explained to the coach that "her front foot" was on the ground and out of the box when the ball hit the bat (still in her hands).

Regardless of when or who, do you call one foot out and one foot in as out of the box (an out) or in the box (a foul)? I remember a long thread on the forum as concluding that any foot in the box meant in the box. Recently, someone disagreed and then this umpire said "one foot" out of the box means out of the box.

What do you think/call and is there any written ruling support?

Just out of curiosity, if the umpire cannot determine if the batter's foot is in the box on contact, how would they be so sure one foot was out when the ball bounces back up and hits the bat?

Seems that would be a tough sell for the umpire when a fair amount of attempted bunts includes the batter's foot in front of the plate. :D

CecilOne Mon Jun 02, 2008 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Just out of curiosity, if the umpire cannot determine if the batter's foot is in the box on contact, how would they be so sure one foot was out when the ball bounces back up and hits the bat?

I don't get what you are asking. If I said the umpire could not determine the placement, I didn't intend it. My Q is once the umpire observes the play and determined the bat or batter was hit by the ball with one foot out of the box and one foot in the box, what is the result?

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Seems that would be a tough sell for the umpire when a fair amount of attempted bunts includes the batter's foot in front of the plate. :D

Ha Ha, tough sells are why we are there.

Jaycec Tue Jun 03, 2008 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
My Q is once the umpire observes the play and determined the bat or batter was hit by the ball with one foot out of the box and one foot in the box, what is the result?

I was the one you were discussing the rule with in the recent thread. I still say that the rule in the book - that is, one foot out of the box = out of the box - is what governs the play. It may help if the book was more clear about batter and batter-runner, but it only lists the rule once. That's what I'm going with.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1