The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Really disapointed in the forum (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/44454-really-disapointed-forum.html)

snorman75 Sat May 17, 2008 02:40am

Really disapointed in the forum - ASA RULES
 
OK, fast set up play on a runner at first from foul territory on a caught ball. Defense uses colored section to get the runner. Is this OK?

Then I pissed off forum for not backing up any of the answers with anything but "this is what I think."

Some took it as a challenge and did very good, like below.
Others, well it is also below.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mdntranger
From: http://downloads.asasoftball.com/ump...ndcomments.pdf

Rule 8 Section 2M 3, 6, 7, 8 and 9: They now read as follows:

Section M 3: Whenever a play is being made on the batter-runner, the defense must use the white portion and the batter-runner the colored portion. (Removed is “by an infielder)

Effect: Once the runner returns to the white or colored base, no appeal can be made.
Comment: The Double base rule should apply whenever the batter-runner is advancing to first base regardless of where the ball was hit, infield or outfield. This also allows the batter-runner to return to either color after they have touched or missed the base no appeal can be made.

Section M 6: On balls hit to the outfield with no play on the batter-runner 1advancing to first base, the batter-runner may touch the white or colored portion. Should the batter-runner return, the runner may return to the white or colored portion.

Comment: This effects the Batter-runner on all balls hit to the outfield and there is a play on the batter-runner. The double base applies to any ball hit regardless of where. The batter runner may also return to either base, white or colored.

Section M 7: When tagging up on a fly ball, the white or colored portion may be used.

Comment: To stay consistent and call the White or Colored portions the same.

Section M 8: Fast Pitch, SP with stealing, 16-Inch Slow Pitch; on an attempted pick-off play, the runner may return to the white or colored portion.

Comment: To stay consistent and call the white and colored portions the same. This also applies to a timing play.

Section M 9: When there is a force play on the batter-runner, who touches only the white portion and collides with the fielder about to catch a thrown ball while on the white.

Comment: Removed the words “By an infielder”. The double base rule applies to all balls hit regardless of where.

Comments on Double base changes: The rule now is basically written so that as a batter-runner while advancing to first base the color you must touch remains the same regardless of where the ball is hit or the throw comes from. Once you have passed first base the base now becomes one base made of a colored portion and a white portion, 30 by 15 vs. 15 by 15

I love the wording here, but the only problem is 2006 rule changes, and the 2007 rules state a runner can use both sections on a tag, this old version is much better.


I guess I got it right on the field, but for the wrong reason. ASA feels the theory of the rule lets both the runner and the defense use both sections on a tag. I have added the letter at the end.

Boys it has been interesting. I knew with a little prodding you all would work on this. Some of you could only insult, interesting.

Thanks

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadeintothem
Actually, you said this wasnt an appeal play.

YOu are a pathetic umpire if that is true.

You are asking a question that is admittedly tough and in fact covered at schools and clinics.. and what is covered at clinics may not jive up 100% with the exact wording of the rule...

But appeal play is a no brainer Umpire 101.

Sorry man it is a protest not a appeal. Can you tell me why?

A response like this should tell many of you why new people are not becoming umps, or least not staying with it. We drive people away. If you do not get what I am saying, just ask your assigner.



"My name is Kevin Ryan and I am the Supervisor of Umpires for the ASA. Craig Cress sent this to me and asked that I respond to you. Yes you got the call right. Rule 8 Section 2 M 6 and 7 would cover this play. Section 2 M 6 says On ball hit to the outfield with no play on the batter-runner advancing to first base the batter-runner may touch the white or colored portion. Should the batter-runner return to 1B, the runner and the defense can use the white or colored portions. Section 2 M 7 says When tagging up on a fly ball the white or colored portion of the base may be used. In both case we describe that the defense or the offense can use both colors. Regretfully we can not add every scenario of what might happen so we use the theory if the offense can use both colors then the defense can also. We will look at the wording this year to see if we can add a few words to help clarify.

Thanks for the question.



Kevin Ryan

ASA Supervisor of Umpires

BretMan Sat May 17, 2008 07:05am

Gee, I'm really disappointed in YOU.

As an ASA umpire, you should keep up with their latest rule changes and interpretations. When the safety base rules were updated in 2006, there were various interpretations issued that explained this exactly as the posters who responded.

After the batter-runner has safely reached first base (ie: is no longer a batter-runner), the double base becomes, essentially, one big 15" X 30" base. At that point, "white" or "orange" do not apply. The defense or offense can use either portion of the bag.

In short, the answers you got were 100% correct. And if you were keeping up with your sanctioning body's rule changes, you would know that!

wadeintothem Sat May 17, 2008 07:40am

Darn, guess you'll have to mosey away and find a better forum.

I understand. No hard feelings.

MichaelVA2000 Sat May 17, 2008 08:27am

There's always eteamz: http://www.eteamz.com/fastpitch/boar...tch/index.cfm?
:rolleyes:

NCASAUmp Sat May 17, 2008 09:03am

Listen, you did nothing to follow up on our answers, including mine. The answer was simple, and you chose to not ask for clarification. If a coach asks you about a ruling, do you tell him, "rule 8, section 7, article S states that the runner is out if she..."? No, you simply explain the rule in plain English.

You didn't ask us to cite the rule. At best, requesting a citation was implied. So don't get p1ssy with us just because we aren't mind-readers.

Skahtboi Sat May 17, 2008 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
OK, I posted this question a few weeks ago and the closest I got to a answer was "asa changed the rules"

Are you kidding me? No citations, nothing, just I think this is it. Well you should know it does not matter what the you think, it matter what you know and prove.

I have to tell you reading the ASA rules there is no double first base on any plays made on a runner for the defense. Did forget to mention to site my answer on checking with a state's head ASA umpire?

I know I have a real problem with umps that go on feeling, not the rules. I have to assume you all did that with not ONE citation to any rules.

Here is the question again see if you can do any better, or prove me wrong.

" Double first call from foul territory on a runner

OK, fast pitch high school Softball NY ASA rules

No outs runner on first. Pop up to first baseman, caught in foul ground, beats the runner back to first, BUT uses the colored section, not the white, to make the play.
Partner, on the bases, calls her out. First base coach appeals that she can not use colored section. I uses the the rule that the first baseman can use the colored base when the play comes from foul territory.

Well I changed my mind after reading the rules, 8.2.M.4 which uses the words batter-runner not runner.

The question is in 8.2.M.7 that states both sections of first can be used in a tag up. Does this mean offensively and defensively or just offensively as I read it?

Let me know what you all think.

Thanks"

I highlighted a section of your OP to show you that everyone who answered you, did exactly as you asked. They let you know what they thought. Now, if you had said, "please provide me with the rule" or something of that nature, I am sure they would have been more than happy to do so.

I have to agree with the others who have basically replied that they are disappointed in you for failing to accurate and succinctly state what you wanted.

Dakota Sat May 17, 2008 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
...Here is the question again see if you can do any better, or prove me wrong. ...

What an http://smilies.vidahost.com/ups/pezhed/jackass.gif

But, to respond to your challenge, http://smilies.vidahost.com/contrib/ruinkai/flipa.gif

IRISHMAFIA Sat May 17, 2008 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
OK, I posted this question a few weeks ago and the closest I got to a answer was "asa changed the rules"

Are you kidding me? No citations, nothing, just I think this is it. Well you should know it does not matter what the you think, it matter what you know and prove.

I have to tell you reading the ASA rules there is no double first base on any plays made on a runner for the defense. Did forget to mention to site my answer on checking with a state's head ASA umpire?

I know I have a real problem with umps that go on feeling, not the rules. I have to assume you all did that with not ONE citation to any rules.

Here is the question again see if you can do any better, or prove me wrong.

" Double first call from foul territory on a runner

OK, fast pitch high school Softball NY ASA rules

No outs runner on first. Pop up to first baseman, caught in foul ground, beats the runner back to first, BUT uses the colored section, not the white, to make the play.
Partner, on the bases, calls her out. First base coach appeals that she can not use colored section. I uses the the rule that the first baseman can use the colored base when the play comes from foul territory.

Well I changed my mind after reading the rules, 8.2.M.4 which uses the words batter-runner not runner.

The question is in 8.2.M.7 that states both sections of first can be used in a tag up. Does this mean offensively and defensively or just offensively as I read it?

Let me know what you all think.

Thanks"

Okay

Rule 1. Appeal Play
Rule 2.3.H
Rule 8.2.M
Rule 8.7.F and subsequent effect
RS #1 Appeals

Clinic Guide

Double Base.B.4:

After the batter-runner reaches first base, both the batter-runner and fielder can use either color of the base for any defensive or offensive play.

Don't get hung up on batter-runner v. runner. The defense may use the enter base for any play on a runner subsequent to the BR reaching 1st base or being retired.

Hope that helps.

IRISHMAFIA Sat May 17, 2008 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Wow, that was pretty harsh.

Than maybe you should delete it???????:confused:

NCASAUmp Sat May 17, 2008 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Than maybe you should delete it???????:confused:

I guess I'm just disappointed in the fact that there are a lot of GREAT umpires on this forum who dedicate a lot of their free time to help others out, and somebody pisses and moans that they weren't help by, essentially, volunteers.

Dholloway1962 Sat May 17, 2008 02:11pm

Probably not an umpire, just a parent or coach who thinks his team got hosed, when they didn't and was hoping someone would prove him right, which they didn't.

bkbjones Sun May 18, 2008 02:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
Let me know what you all think.[/I]

OK, you want a rule, there is a nice little rule in Section 10 that says the UMPIRE has the authority to rule on anything not specifically covered in the rules. Not a pissy coach, not an angry fan. The umpire. Base or plate.

What do I think? I think maybe you too have joined the ranks of ucking fidiots. Good luck in your other forum, and don't let the doorknob hit you in the @$$ on the way out.

DaveASA/FED Mon May 19, 2008 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
OK, I posted this question a few weeks ago and the closest I got to a answer was "asa changed the rules"

Are you kidding me? No citations, nothing, just I think this is it. Well you should know it does not matter what the you think, it matter what you know and prove.

" Double first call from foul territory on a runner

OK, fast pitch high school Softball NY ASA rules

No outs runner on first. Pop up to first baseman, caught in foul ground, beats the runner back to first, BUT uses the colored section, not the white, to make the play.
Partner, on the bases, calls her out. First base coach appeals that she can not use colored section. I uses the the rule that the first baseman can use the colored base when the play comes from foul territory.

Well I changed my mind after reading the rules, 8.2.M.4 which uses the words batter-runner not runner.

The question is in 8.2.M.7 that states both sections of first can be used in a tag up. Does this mean offensively and defensively or just offensively as I read it?

Let me know what you all think.

Thanks"

Ok the above from your post, part from your OP that "we" let you down on. The bold part is my addition, and it appears that you already had the rule citations, so WTF were you looking for? To me, and I didn't post to the original as it appeared to be covered pretty well, you were asking for our opinions as to which rule was the correct one to cover this situation, to make sure you understood these rules and how they worked together to cover different game situations, that was done, in the future if you ask you shall receive but make sure you ask for what you want.

NCASAUmp Mon May 19, 2008 11:23am

Bah, he's a goner, gentlemen. Let him go. ;)

Or maybe a boner. Yeah. Boner.

jwwashburn Mon May 19, 2008 07:28pm

I am disappointed in his grasp of the English Language
 
Oy vey.

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
OK, I posted this question a few weeks ago and the closest I got to a answer was "asa changed the rules"

Are you kidding me? No citations, nothing, just I think this is it. Well you should know it does not matter what the you think, it matter what you know and prove.

I have to tell you reading the ASA rules there is no double first base on any plays made on a runner for the defense. Did forget to mention to site my answer on checking with a state's head ASA umpire?

I know I have a real problem with umps that go on feeling, not the rules. I have to assume you all did that with not ONE citation to any rules.

Here is the question again see if you can do any better, or prove me wrong.

" Double first call from foul territory on a runner

OK, fast pitch high school Softball NY ASA rules

No outs runner on first. Pop up to first baseman, caught in foul ground, beats the runner back to first, BUT uses the colored section, not the white, to make the play.
Partner, on the bases, calls her out. First base coach appeals that she can not use colored section. I uses the the rule that the first baseman can use the colored base when the play comes from foul territory.

Well I changed my mind after reading the rules, 8.2.M.4 which uses the words batter-runner not runner.

The question is in 8.2.M.7 that states both sections of first can be used in a tag up. Does this mean offensively and defensively or just offensively as I read it?

Let me know what you all think.

Thanks"


snorman75 Mon May 19, 2008 08:45pm

Almost there, but you guys are still calling it wrong
 
Nothing personnel boys, but just stating what you think does not cut it in a rules interpretations, and I know how to get umps pissed off and writing, but was surprise to see only one decent response.
Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Okay

Rule 1. Appeal PlayNot appeal play
Rule 2.3.H Does not come into effect
Rule 8.2.MDoes not come into play, sorry all there is a difference between a batter-runner and a runner.
Rule 8.7.F and subsequent effectI submit you go this one, but nothing o do with first base.
RS #1 AppealsNot a appeal

Clinic Guide

Double Base.B.4:

After the batter-runner reaches first base, both the batter-runner and fielder can use either color of the base for any defensive or offensive play. Once a runner reaches first they are no longer a batter runner, so this is a false statement. I do not have a clinic guide to check though

Don't get hung up on batter-runner v. runner. The defense may use the enter base for any play on a runner subsequent to the BR reaching 1st base or being retired.This is the "hang up." scares me you use that in your proof.

Hope that helps.

Like I said in my second post, I got the call wrong on the field. A state ASA umpire in chief agreed with my interpretation of th rule. There is no colored section of the base for th defense to use on a runner. I am going to drop a line to ASA and see if we can get a ruling.

snorman75 Mon May 19, 2008 09:11pm

sorry, not really
 
19 years umping, 5 years league commissioner and tournament director for 100+ teams, USSSA. If you can not tell I am a ump from my citations and how I set it up, ??? I still have only had ONE reply using any citations of the rules. I am blown away by that, I never state my opinion on a rule, because it does not matter, it ONLY matters what the rules says. I have seen to many umps not use the rules, but use what they think is right.

Lat me give you an example. Using USSSA slow pitch. A second foul ball on a 2 strike count is a out. Fly ball down the line runner on third. The ball is caught in FOUL territory, runner tags and comes home. Is it OK, well you should know since I am typing it that it is not. The ball is foul before it is caught hence the batter is out on the foul ball, and that is a dead ball situation so the runner can not advance. This situation was in the mechanics book, word for word, and I still had umps I worked with and in my leagues that would not call it. They did not like the rule and did not want to change. Sure enough I had to uphold a protest on this. Pissed me off even more the ump knew I would up hold the protest, knowing he was wrong, and he still stuck to his feelings, and he was wrong. P.S. I have not done USSSA since 2005, so it might have changed.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
Probably not an umpire, just a parent or coach who thinks his team got hosed, when they didn't and was hoping someone would prove him right, which they didn't.


jwwashburn Mon May 19, 2008 09:26pm

Friends don't let friends post drunk.

wadeintothem Mon May 19, 2008 09:41pm

Well - I've sat right there while NUS staff have said it becomes one base; however, I am hard pressed to find anything to back up that in writing.

Nothing about his scenario shows him to be an umpire.. and doubtless it is some lame troll.. so set that aside... if we pretend this is some jerk coach wanting an answer in a protest.. how could it be answered? "Wild bill/JJ whomever at clinic says so" is not good enough.

Personally, I'm pressed to find some support that would allow defense to use the colored bag on an appeal play from the foul side. I wouldnt mind a clarification from ASA on this.

My instincts are that it would be allowed (I'm not a fan of the double base).. but I got nothing.

IRISHMAFIA Mon May 19, 2008 09:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
Rule 1. Appeal PlayNot appeal play



Of course, it is an appeal play

Rule 2.3.H Does not come into effect

How can it not? It defines the piece of equipment under discussion

Rule 8.2.MDoes not come into play, sorry all there is a difference between a batter-runner and a runner.

Then maybe you should actually read down to #7. "When tagging up on a fly ball, the white or colored portion of the base may be used." Since it is not possible for a BR to "tag up" on ANY type of play, this must refer to a runner. I guess this rule does come into play.

Rule 8.7.F and subsequent effectI submit you go this one, but nothing o do with first base.

I'm sorry, but it has everything to do with any of the first three bases.

RS #1 AppealsNot a appeal

That's twice in the same post


Clinic Guide

Double Base.B.4:

After the batter-runner reaches first base, both the batter-runner and fielder can use either color of the base for any defensive or offensive play. Once a runner reaches first they are no longer a batter runner, so this is a false statement. I do not have a clinic guide to check though

Don't get hung up on batter-runner v. runner. The defense may use the enter base for any play on a runner subsequent to the BR reaching 1st base or being retired.This is the "hang up." scares me you use that in your proof.

If you had any experience with ASA interpretations and case plays you would know they use the term "batter runner" as a designation for the player who placed the ball into play throughout the scenario to avoid confusion.

You asked for an answer. I provided the correct answer with appropriate citations and you still want to argue.

If there is something in which to be disappointed, it certainly isn't this forum.

I'm done with this one.

wadeintothem Mon May 19, 2008 09:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
19 years umping, 5 years league commissioner and tournament director for 100+ teams, USSSA. If you can not tell I am a ump from my citations and how I set it up, ???

Actually, you said this wasnt an appeal play.

YOu are a pathetic umpire if that is true.

You are asking a question that is admittedly tough and in fact covered at schools and clinics.. and what is covered at clinics may not jive up 100% with the exact wording of the rule...

But appeal play is a no brainer Umpire 101.

wadeintothem Mon May 19, 2008 09:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Clinic Guide

Double Base.B.4:

After the batter-runner reaches first base, both the batter-runner and fielder can use either color of the base for any defensive or offensive play. Once a runner reaches first they are no longer a batter runner, so this is a false statement. I do not have a clinic guide to check though


I definitely have heard it said at clinics several times.. and that is how I enforce it and understand.. but looking for appeal play when I pressed myself, left me scratching my head. I looked through the test, all asa clarifications currently posted to the web, the 2008 case book and the rule book. .. I dont have the clinic guide.

I think it would be simple enough to just fix the rule. It sure would be a lot shorter of a rule to simply be phrased the same as the clinic guide. :D

bkbjones Tue May 20, 2008 03:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
Lat me give you an example. Using USSSA slow pitch.

Problem No. 1 right there. Utrip.
Problem No. 2: You made the wrong call. The wrong call you made was to some Internet Service Provider allowing you to access the internet, the web or anything else. It's obvious you don't have the common sense God gave to a donkey to even partially reading, posting, understanding or applying what you might learn in here.

Skahtboi Tue May 20, 2008 08:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
If there is something in which to be disappointed, it certainly isn't this forum.

That statement sums it up nicely.

Skahtboi Tue May 20, 2008 08:41am

Hey Tom! Where is that picture you normally post in these situations???

BretMan Tue May 20, 2008 08:49am

If only I had kept this...

The ASA 2006 Rule Changes and Interpretations were quite clear about the "one big base" thing. I can't find the copy I printed out way back then, and they are no longer to be found on the ASA web site.

So here's the next best thing...

Get your mitts on a 2006 Rule Book. All the changes for that year are listed in the front of the book. With respect to the double first base rule changes, you will find this:

Comments on double base changes: The rule now is basically written so that as a batter-runner while advancing to first base the color you must touch remains the same regardless of where the ball is hit or the throw comes from. Once you have passed first base the base now becomes one base made of a colored portion and a white portion, 30 X 15 vs. 15 X 15.

And once it's "one big base", the offense or defense can certainly use any part of it.

azbigdawg Tue May 20, 2008 09:30am

I stopped reading when I saw USSSA... Apparently USSSA is not doing a very good job with its umpires.

As other people have stated, go to a (ASA) national clinic. Hell...got to a reasonable LOCAL clinic...Hell ask almost any half-assed umpire, and he/she will tell you the correct ruling on this one. The umpire you asked GOT IT WRONG. Mike...and everyone else in here...GOT it right.

You have anything else relevant to discuss? no? dont let the door hit you....

mdntranger Tue May 20, 2008 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan
If only I had kept this...

The ASA 2006 Rule Changes and Interpretations were quite clear about the "one big base" thing. I can't find the copy I printed out way back then, and they are no longer to be found on the ASA web site.

From: http://downloads.asasoftball.com/ump...ndcomments.pdf

Rule 8 Section 2M 3, 6, 7, 8 and 9: They now read as follows:

Section M 3: Whenever a play is being made on the batter-runner, the defense must use the white portion and the batter-runner the colored portion. (Removed is “by an infielder)

Effect: Once the runner returns to the white or colored base, no appeal can be made.
Comment: The Double base rule should apply whenever the batter-runner is advancing to first base regardless of where the ball was hit, infield or outfield. This also allows the batter-runner to return to either color after they have touched or missed the base no appeal can be made.

Section M 6: On balls hit to the outfield with no play on the batter-runner 1advancing to first base, the batter-runner may touch the white or colored portion. Should the batter-runner return, the runner may return to the white or colored portion.

Comment: This effects the Batter-runner on all balls hit to the outfield and there is a play on the batter-runner. The double base applies to any ball hit regardless of where. The batter runner may also return to either base, white or colored.

Section M 7: When tagging up on a fly ball, the white or colored portion may be used.

Comment: To stay consistent and call the White or Colored portions the same.

Section M 8: Fast Pitch, SP with stealing, 16-Inch Slow Pitch; on an attempted pick-off play, the runner may return to the white or colored portion.

Comment: To stay consistent and call the white and colored portions the same. This also applies to a timing play.

Section M 9: When there is a force play on the batter-runner, who touches only the white portion and collides with the fielder about to catch a thrown ball while on the white.

Comment: Removed the words “By an infielder”. The double base rule applies to all balls hit regardless of where.

Comments on Double base changes: The rule now is basically written so that as a batter-runner while advancing to first base the color you must touch remains the same regardless of where the ball is hit or the throw comes from. Once you have passed first base the base now becomes one base made of a colored portion and a white portion, 30 by 15 vs. 15 by 15

azbigdawg Tue May 20, 2008 09:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mdntranger
From: http://downloads.asasoftball.com/ump...ndcomments.pdf

Rule 8 Section 2M 3, 6, 7, 8 and 9: They now read as follows:

Section M 3: Whenever a play is being made on the batter-runner, the defense must use the white portion and the batter-runner the colored portion. (Removed is “by an infielder)

Effect: Once the runner returns to the white or colored base, no appeal can be made.
Comment: The Double base rule should apply whenever the batter-runner is advancing to first base regardless of where the ball was hit, infield or outfield. This also allows the batter-runner to return to either color after they have touched or missed the base no appeal can be made.

Section M 6: On balls hit to the outfield with no play on the batter-runner 1advancing to first base, the batter-runner may touch the white or colored portion. Should the batter-runner return, the runner may return to the white or colored portion.

Comment: This effects the Batter-runner on all balls hit to the outfield and there is a play on the batter-runner. The double base applies to any ball hit regardless of where. The batter runner may also return to either base, white or colored.

Section M 7: When tagging up on a fly ball, the white or colored portion may be used.

Comment: To stay consistent and call the White or Colored portions the same.

Section M 8: Fast Pitch, SP with stealing, 16-Inch Slow Pitch; on an attempted pick-off play, the runner may return to the white or colored portion.

Comment: To stay consistent and call the white and colored portions the same. This also applies to a timing play.

Section M 9: When there is a force play on the batter-runner, who touches only the white portion and collides with the fielder about to catch a thrown ball while on the white.

Comment: Removed the words “By an infielder”. The double base rule applies to all balls hit regardless of where.

Comments on Double base changes: The rule now is basically written so that as a batter-runner while advancing to first base the color you must touch remains the same regardless of where the ball is hit or the throw comes from. Once you have passed first base the base now becomes one base made of a colored portion and a white portion, 30 by 15 vs. 15 by 15


Nice find...thank you very much.

Hopefully one less troll in the house....

wadeintothem Tue May 20, 2008 09:38am

There it is!

thank you very much!

Now the troll can.. uh pass this along to his alleged "state UIC" :rolleyes:

Jaycec Tue May 20, 2008 09:40am

Re
 
This may have been interesting if it were a difficult play to call.

Nice fishing trip, guy.

NM FP Ump Tue May 20, 2008 12:25pm

USSSA in line with ASA
 
USSSA seems to be in line with ASA on this issue:

USSSA Seventh Edition:
RULE 8. BASE RUNNING
Sec. 17. The batter-runner is out:
K. If using the double base:
1. A batted ball hitting the white portion is declared fair and a batted ball hitting only the colored potion is declared foul.
2. Whenever a play is being made on the batter-runner, the defense must use the white portion and the batter-runner the colored portion. (ASA 8.2.M.3) The batter-runner is out when there is a play being made at first base and the batter-runner touches only the white portion, providing the defense appeals prior to the batter-runner returning to first base. This is treated the same as missing the base. Once the runner returns to the white, no appeal can be made.
Exceptions:
A. If the ball is thrown from the foul side of first base line.
B. When an errant or missed throw pulls the defensive player into foul ground.
C. If using the double base, and there is a force play by an infielder on the batter-runner, who touches only the white portion and collides with the fielder about to catch a thrown ball while on the white. (ASA 8.2.M.9)
Penalty: Interference is ruled, the ball is dead, the batter-runner is out, and all other runners are returned to the base last occupied at the time of interference.
3. The batter-runner or runner may touch the white or colored base when:
A. advancing or returning on balls hit to outfield with no play being attempted. (ASA 8.2.M.6)
B. tagging up on fly ball. (ASA 8.2.M.7)
C. returning on an attempted pick-off play. (ASA 8.2.M.8)

I could add more about USSSA vs ASA, but I won't go there ;) In my limited experience, most rule sets are the same, but there are always some differences. When it comes to the double base, USSSA and ASA seem to be "on the same page."

Dakota Tue May 20, 2008 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
..." ...No outs runner on first. Pop up to first baseman, caught in foul ground, beats the runner back to first, BUT uses the colored section, not the white, to make the play.
Partner, on the bases, calls her out. ..."

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
...Not appeal play...Not a appeal...

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
...19 years umping, 5 years league commissioner and tournament director for 100+ teams, USSSA...

TILt!

http://www.eteamz.com/softballumpire...es/trollof.jpg

azbigdawg Tue May 20, 2008 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NM FP Ump
USSSA seems to be in line with ASA on this issue:

USSSA Seventh Edition:
RULE 8. BASE RUNNING
Sec. 17. The batter-runner is out:
K. If using the double base:
1. A batted ball hitting the white portion is declared fair and a batted ball hitting only the colored potion is declared foul.
2. Whenever a play is being made on the batter-runner, the defense must use the white portion and the batter-runner the colored portion. (ASA 8.2.M.3) The batter-runner is out when there is a play being made at first base and the batter-runner touches only the white portion, providing the defense appeals prior to the batter-runner returning to first base. This is treated the same as missing the base. Once the runner returns to the white, no appeal can be made.
Exceptions:
A. If the ball is thrown from the foul side of first base line.
B. When an errant or missed throw pulls the defensive player into foul ground.
C. If using the double base, and there is a force play by an infielder on the batter-runner, who touches only the white portion and collides with the fielder about to catch a thrown ball while on the white. (ASA 8.2.M.9)
Penalty: Interference is ruled, the ball is dead, the batter-runner is out, and all other runners are returned to the base last occupied at the time of interference.
3. The batter-runner or runner may touch the white or colored base when:
A. advancing or returning on balls hit to outfield with no play being attempted. (ASA 8.2.M.6)
B. tagging up on fly ball. (ASA 8.2.M.7)
C. returning on an attempted pick-off play. (ASA 8.2.M.8)

I could add more about USSSA vs ASA, but I won't go there ;) In my limited experience, most rule sets are the same, but there are always some differences. When it comes to the double base, USSSA and ASA seem to be "on the same page."


They should be since the USSSA rules come from the ASA book....

Skahtboi Tue May 20, 2008 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota

There it is!

snorman75 Tue May 20, 2008 10:08pm

ASA made ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mdntranger
From: http://downloads.asasoftball.com/ump...ndcomments.pdf

Rule 8 Section 2M 3, 6, 7, 8 and 9: They now read as follows:

Section M 3: Whenever a play is being made on the batter-runner, the defense must use the white portion and the batter-runner the colored portion. (Removed is “by an infielder)

Effect: Once the runner returns to the white or colored base, no appeal can be made.
Comment: The Double base rule should apply whenever the batter-runner is advancing to first base regardless of where the ball was hit, infield or outfield. This also allows the batter-runner to return to either color after they have touched or missed the base no appeal can be made.

Section M 6: On balls hit to the outfield with no play on the batter-runner 1advancing to first base, the batter-runner may touch the white or colored portion. Should the batter-runner return, the runner may return to the white or colored portion.

Comment: This effects the Batter-runner on all balls hit to the outfield and there is a play on the batter-runner. The double base applies to any ball hit regardless of where. The batter runner may also return to either base, white or colored.

Section M 7: When tagging up on a fly ball, the white or colored portion may be used.

Comment: To stay consistent and call the White or Colored portions the same.

Section M 8: Fast Pitch, SP with stealing, 16-Inch Slow Pitch; on an attempted pick-off play, the runner may return to the white or colored portion.

Comment: To stay consistent and call the white and colored portions the same. This also applies to a timing play.

Section M 9: When there is a force play on the batter-runner, who touches only the white portion and collides with the fielder about to catch a thrown ball while on the white.

Comment: Removed the words “By an infielder”. The double base rule applies to all balls hit regardless of where.

Comments on Double base changes: The rule now is basically written so that as a batter-runner while advancing to first base the color you must touch remains the same regardless of where the ball is hit or the throw comes from. Once you have passed first base the base now becomes one base made of a colored portion and a white portion, 30 by 15 vs. 15 by 15

I love the wording here, but the only problem is 2006 rule changes, and the 2007 rules state a runner can use both sections on a tag, this old version is much better.


I guess I got it right on the field, but for the wrong reason. ASA feels the theory of the rule lets both the runner and the defense use both sections on a tag. I have added the letter at the end.

Boys it has been interesting. I knew with a little prodding you all would work on this. Some of you could only insult, but I am sure you have bigger problems then insulting me.

Thanks

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadeintothem
Actually, you said this wasnt an appeal play.

YOu are a pathetic umpire if that is true.

You are asking a question that is admittedly tough and in fact covered at schools and clinics.. and what is covered at clinics may not jive up 100% with the exact wording of the rule...

But appeal play is a no brainer Umpire 101.

Sorry man it is a protest not a appeal. Can you tell me why?

A response like this should tell many of you why new people are not becoming umps. We drive people away. If you do not get what I am saying, just ask your assigner.



"My name is Kevin Ryan and I am the Supervisor of Umpires for the ASA. Craig Cress sent this to me and asked that I respond to you. Yes you got the call right. Rule 8 Section 2 M 6 and 7 would cover this play. Section 2 M 6 says On ball hit to the outfield with no play on the batter-runner advancing to first base the batter-runner may touch the white or colored portion. Should the batter-runner return to 1B, the runner and the defense can use the white or colored portions. Section 2 M 7 says When tagging up on a fly ball the white or colored portion of the base may be used. In both case we describe that the defense or the offense can use both colors. Regretfully we can not add every scenario of what might happen so we use the theory if the offense can use both colors then the defense can also. We will look at the wording this year to see if we can add a few words to help clarify.

Thanks for the question.



Kevin Ryan

ASA Supervisor of Umpires

NCASAUmp Tue May 20, 2008 10:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
Boys it has been interesting. I knew with a little prodding you all would work on this. Some of you could only insult, but I am sure you have bigger problems then insulting me.

Perhaps insulting the forum without asking for what you really wanted wasn't your best move, either. If you want something in particular, ask. Don't ask for opinions when you want specific rule citations.

I'm done with this guy. He's a troll with an inferiority complex. Hope I never call with him.

Dakota Tue May 20, 2008 11:18pm

Changing your OP radically after numerous replies tells me you didn't know what you were talking about and are trying to revise history.

It was not a protest; it was a live ball appeal. Can you tell me why?

What a jerk.

snorman75 Tue May 20, 2008 11:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Perhaps insulting the forum without asking for what you really wanted wasn't your best move, either. If you want something in particular, ask. Don't ask for opinions when you want specific rule citations.

I'm done with this guy. He's a troll with an inferiority complex. Hope I never call with him.


?? we are umps all we have are rules. I did ask for a interpretation, not opinions.
You know I will not lower myself. I will leave it at that.

bkbjones Tue May 20, 2008 11:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
?? we are umps all we have are rules. I did ask for a interpretation, not opinions.
You know I will not lower myself. I will leave it at that.

There is something lower than the bottom of a portapottie?

snorman75 Tue May 20, 2008 11:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Changing your OP radically after numerous replies tells me you didn't know what you were talking about and are trying to revise history.

It was not a protest; it was a live ball appeal. Can you tell me why?

What a jerk.

I changed my interpretation, never a "OP", when ASA told me I was wrong. Like I said from the beginning I like this interpitation, safer.


Let me set it up again:
1. under 2 outs
2. runner on first
3. foul pop up caught by first baseman in foul territory
4. First baseman beat runner back to the base, but used colored section to do it.
5. Runner was called out.

To be an appeal there needs to be a violation, by way I will site ASA definitions for "appeals & protest". There is no violation. There is the rule interpretation of the first baseman being allowed to use the colored section. Since it is a interpretation of the rules it is a protest. It is really that simple, how are so many of you guys getting this wrong?

6. The coach believed me and my interpretation, which at the time was; since the play originated from foul territory the first baseman can use the colored section. When it should had been since it is a tag play both the runner and defense can use both sections of first. So he did not protest.

NCASAUmp Wed May 21, 2008 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones
There is something lower than the bottom of a portapottie?

The cakes? Or is it that blue stuff?

Maybe that's why he insists he's a blue. :D

wadeintothem Wed May 21, 2008 09:50am

Is anyone else getting PM spam from our new troll friend?

Or am I just special?

Dakota Wed May 21, 2008 10:02am

I got one PM from him, but I wouldn't call it spam... he just made the same argument in a PM he did on the board.

LMan Thu May 22, 2008 09:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by snorman75
6. The coach believed me and my interpretation,

Whats more pathetic- the troll, or the coach who believes him?

Skahtboi Thu May 22, 2008 09:40am

This horse seems to be dead. No need to still kick it!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1