The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   HBP, Dead Ball, BR enters dugout (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/44406-hbp-dead-ball-br-enters-dugout.html)

Thurman15 Thu May 15, 2008 10:11am

HBP, Dead Ball, BR enters dugout
 
NFHS rule set. B1 gets hit in the face with the pitch and immediately becomes upset. PU calls dead ball and awards B1 1B. The batter runs directly from the batter's box into her team's dugout to get ice for her face. The OC asks the PU if he can put in a substitute to run for B1. The PU states that he wants B1 to go touch 1B first before allowing the substitute. DC wants B1 ruled out for entering the team area.
What is the correct ruling?

Steve M Thu May 15, 2008 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thurman15
NFHS rule set. B1 gets hit in the face with the pitch and immediately becomes upset. PU calls dead ball and awards B1 1B. The batter runs directly from the batter's box into her team's dugout to get ice for her face. The OC asks the PU if he can put in a substitute to run for B1. The PU states that he wants B1 to go touch 1B first before allowing the substitute. DC wants B1 ruled out for entering the team area.
What is the correct ruling?

That's an injury, just put the sub on 1B & play ball.

Dholloway1962 Thu May 15, 2008 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thurman15
NFHS rule set. B1 gets hit in the face with the pitch and immediately becomes upset. PU calls dead ball and awards B1 1B. The batter runs directly from the batter's box into her team's dugout to get ice for her face. The OC asks the PU if he can put in a substitute to run for B1. The PU states that he wants B1 to go touch 1B first before allowing the substitute. DC wants B1 ruled out for entering the team area.
What is the correct ruling?

It's a dead ball...she can enter the dugout, unlike ball 4 or dropped 3rd strike. Put the sub on the base. The hit batter doesn't have to touch first. Rules allow a sub to touch awarded bases due to injury.

BlitzkriegBob Thu May 15, 2008 10:39am

Probably a dumb question, but how was she able to get hit in the face? Wasn't she wearing a face guard?

Thurman15 Thu May 15, 2008 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlitzkriegBob
Probably a dumb question, but how was she able to get hit in the face? Wasn't she wearing a face guard?

No, it's a good question - she had her helmet tilted back on her head a bit, just enough for her to get hit in the chin/jaw.

Skahtboi Thu May 15, 2008 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thurman15
No, it's a good question - she had her helmet tilted back on her head a bit, just enough for her to get hit in the chin/jaw.

So she wasn't properly wearing her equipment? That should have been addressed before she was allowed to even take her place in the batter's box.

SRW Thu May 15, 2008 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thurman15
B1 gets hit in the face with the pitch and immediately becomes upset.

Duh. Wouldn't you? :D

Dakota Sat May 17, 2008 09:43am

BTW, just a little slightly OT editorial... JMO (as if "editorial" didn't imply opinion ;)), but it is wrong-thinking to require the face guard and NOT require the chin strap (ala NFHS). Not that the chin strap is a panacea, but it can help keep the helmet in place. Face guards cost an extra $10 or so per helmet. Chin straps an extra 10¢.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1