![]() |
Batters Interference
Situation:
ASA Ruleset - Farm league game 3rd-4th grade Bases Loaded Batter hits a ball that makes contact with plate, bouces on the plate again then rolls into FAIR territory above the plate. BR INNOCENTLY picks up the ball and hands it to the catcher. I call the BR OUT for interference. By the book, should I have also called the Runner at 3rd out? Now, if this was Jr or Sr level game or even HS/College. . .would it be the same call? |
Quote:
Same rule applies for all levels in ASA. The key words being: "in ASA." NFHS, NCAA, etc., may have different rules. |
By rule...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Yes, I think an out should be called, unless given other instructions by the league. There is nothing wrong with a league that eliminates certain rules in the spirit of participation. If the league wants a more lax approach from the officials, that's fine by me, and I won't call the out (maybe a live ball or call it "foul"). However, I'd want the league to declare these expectations to me beforehand, rather than after the fact. The last thing I'd want is phone calls for doing my job with fluctuating sets of expectations. |
Quote:
|
The coaches always tell me that "If they dont learn now". . .so I take that approach behind the plaet. . . .
However, the reason I asked about other more advanced leagues is simple. . . .I fully suspect that in a 7/8 Sr. Level Game, I would have expected that the catcher would have the opportunity to have fielded the ball, stepped on the plate and have a chance to complete a DP. . . .Thats why I asked the What If. . . guess I'd only still have one out if it wasnt intentional |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44pm. |