The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Two Questions: Ball hits batter, Overthrow (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/44275-two-questions-ball-hits-batter-overthrow.html)

IRISHMAFIA Sun May 18, 2008 04:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
the entire box is treated as foul territory for batter position only, because the mass of the batter's body being over the foul line or not is nearly impossible to judge when in motion. Yes, the accepted view is if the batter has either foot or other body part touching the box, the batter is in the box.

Where did you get mixing up the batter's box with foul territory? Two completely separate entities that have absolutely nothing to do with each other.

CecilOne Wed May 21, 2008 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Where did you get mixing up the batter's box with foul territory? Two completely separate entities that have absolutely nothing to do with each other.

Agree. Sorry if I was too focused on trying to separate the two rules presented by Jaycec.

The "for batter position only" meant that a batter still in the box is treated as if in foul ground, so a batter struck by a batted ball while in any part of the batters box results in a foul ball.

CecilOne Wed May 21, 2008 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jaycec
Can you cite the two separate rules that you speak of? Until you can, I'm going with the rule that is actually in the book - one foot outside the box = outside the box. I can't find the logic in doing the opposite regardless of what you think the accepted view is.

NFHS
2-25-f
7-4-8
7-4-13 exc and case

How is "one foot out = out of box" more logical than "one foot in = in box"? It's the other way around, and we have discussed this more than once in the forum and agreed that is the case.

Jaycec Thu May 22, 2008 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
NFHS
2-25-f
7-4-8
7-4-13 exc and case

How is "one foot out = out of box" more logical than "one foot in = in box"? It's the other way around, and we have discussed this more than once in the forum and agreed that is the case.

I don't have a NFHS rulebook. I do have an ASA rule book, and the rule I cited is more logical because it actually appears in the rule book.

Sorry I've missed your discussions; I'm new here. Can you give me a link?

From what I'm seeing right now, the ASA rule book has one rule about when a player is in/out of the box. You're claiming it changes based on batter/batter-runner. I don't see any reason for thinking this. Again, a link would be helpful I suppose. The only link I found confirmed my belief.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1