The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Fair or Foul? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/44216-fair-foul.html)

Cajun Reff Thu May 08, 2008 01:15pm

Fair or Foul?
 
coach pitch 7/8 y/o girls slowpitch softball, USSSA rules

HTML Code:

Sec. 29. A foul ball is a batted ball which:
A. Settles on foul territory between home and first base, or between home
and 3rd base.
B. Bounds past first or third base on or over foul territory.
C. First falls on foul territory beyond first or third base.
D. While on or over foul territory touches the person of an umpire, a
player or any object foreign to the natural ground

RH batter hits the ball, ball goes straight down and hits in the batter's box just past the batter's foot and starts slowly rolling towards 3rd in foul territory, I am on the plate and I call foul ball. As it keeps rolling it hits a clump of dirt and kicks into fair territory just past the fair/foul area in front of home plate. Batting team coach says that ball should be fair and reading the USSSA rules it seems he may be correct.

Since I had already called foul ball, right or wrong the play is dead. This play has stuck with me since last night, did I interpret the fair/foul rule wrong? Is a clump of dirt on a poorly maintained field an "object" or is part of the "natural ground"

NCASAUmp Thu May 08, 2008 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cajun Reff
coach pitch 7/8 y/o girls slowpitch softball, USSSA rules

HTML Code:

Sec. 29. A foul ball is a batted ball which:
A. Settles on foul territory between home and first base, or between home
and 3rd base.
B. Bounds past first or third base on or over foul territory.
C. First falls on foul territory beyond first or third base.
D. While on or over foul territory touches the person of an umpire, a
player or any object foreign to the natural ground

RH batter hits the ball, ball goes straight down and hits in the batter's box just past the batter's foot and starts slowly rolling towards 3rd in foul territory, I am on the plate and I call foul ball. As it keeps rolling it hits a clump of dirt and kicks into fair territory just past the fair/foul area in front of home plate. Batting team coach says that ball should be fair and reading the USSSA rules it seems he may be correct.

Since I had already called foul ball, right or wrong the play is dead. This play has stuck with me since last night, did I interpret the fair/foul rule wrong? Is a clump of dirt on a poorly maintained field an "object" or is part of the "natural ground"

I haven't called U-Trip in years, but that rule hasn't changed, either. A clump of dirt on a poorly maintained field is still part of the ground. Same thing is said for the pits that are dug into the batter's box.

If the ball is still in motion, I never call "foul" until it's finally a foul ball (ie., touched by a fielder, settles or is touched in foul territory before passing 1B or 3B, bounds past 1B or 3B in foul territory, or lands foul beyond 1B or 3B, etc.). Until one of those happens, I'm silent.

Skahtboi Thu May 08, 2008 01:25pm

In short, don't ever call it fair or foul until it actually is fair/foul. A ball, rolling down the line for example, is neither until it is a)touched by a fielder, b) passed first or third base, or c) come to a complete stop.

A fly ball that lands initially past the bases, on the other hand, is fair or foul immediately, depending on where it first lands or is touched.

Cajun Reff Thu May 08, 2008 01:37pm

thanks fellas that is what I was afraid of.

I was sort of on "auto-pilot" when that play happened and that is what I get for jumping the gun and not letting the play develop to its own conclusion.

DaveASA/FED Thu May 08, 2008 02:40pm

Yep as the others have said that should be a fair ball....I had this one happen when I was BU, years ago in baseball. Field had dirt running lanes and grass on both sides (like most baseball fields) ball comes off and rolls up foul side of grass PU Kills it with "foul ball" hands in air all stops....ball rolls up side of grass(slight incline from dirt to grass) and back down and settles at least 3" in fair territory where F5 picks it up. Well nice conversations insue and I told PU, well you kicked that one, but you rang the bell got to live with it now....bet he never did that again, as I am sure you won't either :)

Dholloway1962 Thu May 08, 2008 02:49pm

Or can you can do what I do when I blow one....say Coach that is a AFA (or some other organization) rule....this is USSSA. 99% of the time the coach will say "oh yeah that's right" and be happy, even though you blew it! :D (just kidding of course)

NCASAUmp Thu May 08, 2008 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
Or can you can do what I do when I blow one....say Coach that is a AFA (or some other organization) rule....this is USSSA. 99% of the time the coach will say "oh yeah that's right" and be happy, even though you blew it! :D (just kidding of course)

:eek:

Cajun Reff Thu May 08, 2008 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
Or can you can do what I do when I blow one....say Coach that is a AFA (or some other organization) rule....this is USSSA. 99% of the time the coach will say "oh yeah that's right" and be happy, even though you blew it! :D (just kidding of course)

HAHAHAHA damn :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1