The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   r1 passes r2 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/44083-r1-passes-r2.html)

egghead Sat May 03, 2008 10:20am

r1 passes r2
 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bases loaded, no outs. b1 hits a double. r3 scores, r2 holds at second, r1 takes off. r1 passes r2 between second and third. r1 lets r2 get back in front. ball is thrown home and catcher tags r2. r1 is at third and b1 at second. pu calls r1 out, puts r2 on third and b1 on first. is it a dead ball as soon as r1 passed r2? should r2 be out since catcher taged her at the plate? as you can tell, i am a rookie.....

SC Ump Sat May 03, 2008 10:44am

For the play, the moment a runner passes a preceeding runner, the runner that passed is out and the ball is still alive. With your symbols, R1 would be out the moment he/she passed R2, but the ball is not dead.

In softball, we'd state the players with R1 the player who batted first and who is now at 3B, R2 is the player that batted second and now at 2B and R3 the player that batted third and now at 1B. The batter is usually referred to at BR, but could be B4.

All that is not a big deal but will help in communications on this board.

WELCOME!

egghead Sat May 03, 2008 10:50am

Thanks.........Should the bu or the pu make a verbal call immediately that the runner is out?

IRISHMAFIA Sat May 03, 2008 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by egghead
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
bases loaded, no outs. b1 hits a double. r3 scores, r2 holds at second, r1 takes off. r1 passes r2 between second and third.

Speaking ASA, and just about every other softball org of which I am aware:

R1 is out.

Quote:

r1 lets r2 get back in front. ball is thrown home and catcher tags r2.
R2 is out.

Quote:

r1 is at third and b1 at second. pu calls r1 out, puts r2 on third and b1 on first.
Umpire is making it up as he goes. Hasn't a clue.

Quote:

is it a dead ball as soon as r1 passed r2?
No, the ball remains live.

Quote:

should r2 be out since catcher taged her at the plate?
See above.


As Dan mentioned, positions noted in softball are based on the order in which the player entered the scenario.

SC Ump Sat May 03, 2008 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by egghead
Thanks.........Should the bu or the pu make a verbal call immediately that the runner is out?

In two umpire mechanics for this situation, the PU has calls at 3B and home. The BU has calls at 1B and 2B (and BR at 3B should she get that far.)

So, the question of who has this call "officially" would be dependent on where between 2B and 3B it happened. Even though I guess the half way point between 2B and 3B would be the transition point, I would hope that if I were PU, my partner called it anywhere... and if he missed it, I hope I will have seen it. It's kind of a gray area so we'd better both be on alert.

egghead Sat May 03, 2008 08:41pm

Thanks Dan.....Should a verbal call be made as soon as infroaction takes place?

MNBlue Sat May 03, 2008 09:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by egghead
Thanks Dan.....Should a verbal call be made as soon as infroaction takes place?

Yes. That way people will know you saw the infraction and have ruled the runner out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1