![]() |
is it a "Base Hit"?
I know this is really a scorekeeping question.
Batter-runner hits hard grounder right to F6 who fields ball badly then throws to F3 too late to make out. Batter-runner advances to second base safely. I understand that there is an error on F6, but is the Batter-runner awarded a base hit? Thanks, |
http://en.allexperts.com/q/Softball-...ble-Single.htm
That situation I think answers the question you are asking. |
Be very wary of anything you read on that "All Experts" web site.
The softball answers are generally okay- except for a few where a coach chimes in on a point of rules as the self-proclaimed "expert". The answers there from Tom Mielke are usually spot-on. The baseball portion of their web site sometimes seems like the rules answers are being randomly pulled out of a hat. |
Quote:
If play would not have gotten the BR out at 1B anyway, but the fielding or throw allowed the BR to go to 2B, then it would be a base hit and an error. But then again, I'm not an expert. |
No, it is not.
|
Quote:
Heck, you even started this thread. |
On the whole, the softball answers covering rules have been pretty good there lately- at least when they are answered by "experts" who seem to be experienced umpires.
The "off-the-wall" answers are usually provided by those whose area of expertise lies in the coaching ranks. Some of the answers they give, it kind of makes you feel sorry the guy that asked the question and now believes he knows the answer. Little does he know that some of the "experts" on that site are anything but! |
I too am leery of them...but this answer seemed right on.
|
New here. Hope it's okay to post links. This is my #1 reference site for scorekeeping questions:
http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info..._scorer_10.jsp |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58pm. |