The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA 2002 Exam (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/4378-asa-2002-exam.html)

greymule Thu Mar 14, 2002 09:56pm

Everybody took the test Tuesday night, because for legal reasons our association tests every year. Here's question #49:

In a Class "C" SP game, R1 on 2B, 1 out. Which of the following would not be considered a
four base award?
(A) A fly ball hits F7's glove and continues over the fence in fair territory.
(B) A batted ball goes over F8's head, hit's [sic] the fence, rebounds off of [sic] F8 and goes
over the fence.
(C) A fly ball hits the top of the fence and goes over the fence in fair territory.
(D) A batted ball hits F9's glove in fair territory and goes over the outfield fence in foul
territory.

ASA says the answer is (C). Any other opinions?

oppool Thu Mar 14, 2002 11:55pm

[b]The correct answers are of course c & d somebody forgot to proof-read


Don

SamNVa Fri Mar 15, 2002 09:42am

I agree, the correct answers should be C & D.

C is a home run which counts against the teams total, and D is a 'book-rule' double. I'm not sure about B, I thought if a ball hit the front of the fence, that it was no longer "in-flight" and therefore if it hit a fielder and bounced over the fence it was also a two-base award. To my way of thinking, the only 4-base award is A.

SamC

whiskers_ump Fri Mar 15, 2002 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
Everybody took the test Tuesday night, because for legal reasons our association tests every year. Here's question #49:

In a Class "C" SP game, R1 on 2B, 1 out. Which of the following would not be considered a
four base award?
(A) A fly ball hits F7's glove and continues over the fence in fair territory.
(B) A batted ball goes over F8's head, hit's [sic] the fence, rebounds off of [sic] F8 and goes
over the fence.
(C) A fly ball hits the top of the fence and goes over the fence in fair territory.
(D) A batted ball hits F9's glove in fair territory and goes over the outfield fence in foul
territory.

ASA says the answer is (C). Any other opinions?

greymule,

{a} definiately a four base award?
{b} <font color = purple>Holding judgement now</font> {dbl I think}
{c} That is <b>NOT</b> a four base award. [home run period]
{d} That is <b>NOT</B> a four base award. [ground rule dbl]

Looks like <font color = red>C & D </font>until I can research
everything included in b.

glen

oppool Fri Mar 15, 2002 06:26pm

Okay guys
 
ASA rule book 2002 POE#25D A batted ball hitting the fence, going directly to a player and then going over the fence in fair territory is a home run (FP) and a four base award (SP)

I believe this should cover (b) on the test


JMO

Don

SamNVa Fri Mar 15, 2002 06:55pm

I understand from reading the POE, and the rule (8.6.H I think) which says that if the ball goes over the fence <b>without touching the ground</b> that it is a home run, but, by the same logic, the outfielder should be able to catch the ball off the fence for an out.

I personally think ASA blew the interpretation on this one. IMO, the better interpretation is if the batted ball which is still <b>in-flight</b> leaves the field in fair territory it should be a home run.

JMO
SamC

whiskers_ump Fri Mar 15, 2002 08:37pm

Re: Okay guys
 
Quote:

Originally posted by oppool
ASA rule book 2002 POE#25D A batted ball hitting the fence, going directly to a player and then going over the fence in fair territory is a home run (FP) and a four base award (SP)

I believe this should cover (b) on the test


JMO

Don

Don,
OK, that covers B and leaves C & D. I did not get to check
that out...had a ball game with an acquaintance of yours
and ntxblue....Tim Butts...He did a good job and we had no
problems....A 12-4 non-exciting small schools thing. 2A.

glen

oppool Fri Mar 15, 2002 09:00pm

Glen glad to hear Tim is doing alright and staying out of trouble hopefully. He will probably have to work all year just to make up for the money he spent at the national school we attended in Dec.

Did you ever find out the other 2 guys names that were at the National in Dec that were from down there in your alls country? Both were good ole boys both I say were 50+. One of em was talking to Tim about AFA ball I believe when I heard your name mentioned the other I believe was a UIC from down there I believe he said he didnt call anymore but use to do college ball too in that area


Have a good one

Don

IRISHMAFIA Sat Mar 16, 2002 09:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by SamNVa
I agree, the correct answers should be C & D.

C is a home run which counts against the teams total, and D is a 'book-rule' double. I'm not sure about B, I thought if a ball hit the front of the fence, that it was no longer "in-flight" and therefore if it hit a fielder and bounced over the fence it was also a two-base award. To my way of thinking, the only 4-base award is A.

SamC

Actually, it didn't say the ball hit the "front" of the fence.

I agree, the correct answer(s) would be C and D.

And I know many think that B is a crock, but if you read the rule carefully, it is a fly ball, it did touch a defensive player and it did go over the fence in fair territory. (5.8.note.1) This would more likely come up on a ball which hit the top of the fence, then went off the fielder's glove, head, hand or whatever and out of play.

Maybe the wording of the rule could be a little better, then again, if a defensive player places themselves in a position for a ball to come off the front of the fence, hit them and allow it to go over the fence, I think the offense would deserve the benefit of the defense's poor play.

As far as catching it off the fence, that is covered in another rule.

Whatever, it's the rule.

[Edited by IRISHMAFIA on Mar 16th, 2002 at 08:33 AM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1