![]() |
LBR Basics
OK, I feel I know the answer to this questions, but an umpire friend tells me I am wrong. So, I thought I would let you all settle this.
ASA rules. BR draws a walk and runs to first. Before the BR reaches first, the pitcher has possession of the ball inside the circle. The BR touches 1st and immediately takes off toward 2nd base. The pitcher notices the BR running to 2nd and throws the ball to 2nd. The BR realizes she isn't going to reach first before the ball, so she retreats back to 1st base. I call the runner safe and the LBR is not in affect because: Rule 8, Section 7, T (Look Back Rule): Exception: The runner is not declared out if: 1: If a play is made on any runner. A fake throw is considered a play. 2. The pitcher no longer has possession of the ball within the 8 foot radius I believe the pitcher made a play on the runner and the pitcher no longer has possession of the ball in the circle when the BR started her return to 1st base. My umpire friend feels she is out because she cannot retreat to 1st after committing to 2nd. Your thoughts? |
I"m no expert but
Mr. clevbrown I think you got it right. I'm assuming I visualized this correctly...
|
Once a play is being made by the picher the runner can go in any direction.
|
Your umpire friend is wrong.
I'm not sure how they could think they are right when you have a rule book and could just show them. |
ditto the others, plus:
1) We are visualizing that "BR touches 1st and immediately takes off toward 2nd base" means without stopping. 2) Is the "umpire" in question getting confused with the overrun rule? |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39pm. |