The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Rule 8-7-C (ASA) Clarification

As I was reading through my rulebook earlier, I came across a rule that I guess I've never paid much attention to. It's under rule 8, Batter-Runner and Runner. The rule reads as follows:

Quote:
When on a force play, a fielder contacts the base while holding the ball, or tags the runner before the runner reaches the base. If the forced runner, after touching the next base, retreats for any reason towards the base first occupied, the force play is reinstated and the runner may again be put out if the defense tags the runner or the base to which the runner is forced.
Now this is quite the hypothetical situation here, but let's imagine R1 on 2B and R2 on 1B. B3 hits a ball to an infielder and is retired at 1B on the force. F3 then throws the ball to F5. R1, prior to reaching 3B, retreats to 2B, since the force is no longer in effect. However, R2 has already advanced to B2, and is occupying it. R2 noticing R1, decides to retreat back to first to open the base up for R1.

Now, can the defense simply throw the ball to first and it be a force out, since R2 was a forced runner that touched the next base? Or must the defense tag R2?

I'm sure this situation is unlikely to occur as outlined above in a game, but I just like to make sure I have all the bases covered. (Pun intended)

Also, another question regarding force plays. Yesterday I had a local 14U game. I was the BU behind F6 with runner on 3B. D3K, batter runs to first. F3 bobbles the ball, then drops it as she falls to the ground to retrieve it. F3 secures the ball in the glove, crawls to 1B and touches the base with her free hand. Close play. I call the runner out. The offensive coaches didn't give me a hard time, as I knew both of them fairly well, but between innings wanted some clarification. The first thing they wondered was why 1B was my call since I was behind F6, to which I replied that all bases were my responsibility and perhaps maybe the league should hire three umpires per game (In good humor of course). Next, one of the coaches wanted to know how the runner was out whenever the fielder touched the base with her free hand. This got my mind going, as I've never really thought about this, but simply knew on a force that fielder must tag the base. I told her it was essentially the same as F3 catching the ball and tagging the base with her foot.

Was I right on this call?

-Kyle
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
If the force is off, it is not reinstated. The rule applies as follows: R1@1B.. single, R1 goes to 2B, BR safe @1B.. R1 retreats back to 1B (for whatever reason), the force at 2b is back on.

If the BR is out in the above, the force is not reinstated at 2B.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
As to your second question.. of course its the right call and its exactly the same as the foot, but, face, or whatever else she can get on the bag for a "force" out (no tangents about 1B forces from the peanut gallery please). All that is required by rule is that the fielder is in possession of the ball and she touches the base.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 02:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
As to your second question.. of course its the right call and its exactly the same as the foot, but, face, or whatever else she can get on the bag for a "force" out (no tangents about 1B forces from the peanut gallery please). All that is required by rule is that the fielder is in possession of the ball and she touches the base.
Years ago, someone on this board stated it like this.

If F3 has the ball, falls, and her pony tail is resting on the base, the runner
is out.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiskers_ump
Years ago, someone on this board stated it like this.

If F3 has the ball, falls, and her pony tail is resting on the base, the runner
is out.
I would LOVE to call that
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 06:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
I would LOVE to call that
So would I, especially since I mostly call men's games! We've got a few mullets around here.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule clarification snow54 Basketball 5 Tue Sep 12, 2006 06:10am
Rule 2-10 Clarification Burtis449 Basketball 3 Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:34am
Rule Clarification BigToe Basketball 5 Wed Nov 16, 2005 06:21pm
rule clarification knightsfan74 Basketball 8 Sat Jan 17, 2004 11:59am
Rule Clarification Dennis Nicely Basketball 5 Mon Feb 19, 2001 01:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1