The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   2 quick questions, fp softball! (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/43548-2-quick-questions-fp-softball.html)

jritchie Wed Apr 16, 2008 11:24am

2 quick questions, fp softball!
 
I have been out for a couple years due to having a new baby in the house and needed a refresher on a rule or 2.

1. Flex rule...i know she goes in the 10th spot on the line up card and can come in to bat for the dp, when this happens you have 9 players now. When the original batter wants to come back in and hit, the flex goes back to her 10th spot. Now the question, can this happen more than once??? i thought someone said it can happen 2 times....but on the second time the flex comes on to bat for the dp, the dp player was done and she had to be replaced if switched again.

2. catcher interference... bat hitting glove on swing, foul ball or little dribbler in play! Would it matter, wouldn't both plays get 1st base?? situation, runners on 2nd and 3rd, batter swings contacts catchers glove then:
A) foul ball, batter awarded 1st base and base runners stay on 2nd and 3rd.
B)little dribbler to pitcher, runners advanced to 3rd and home on the play, runner threw out at 1st...????????? do you award batter 1st and send runners back or award 1st and let runners get 3rd and home....i'm thinking they go back and that is what i did the other night, just wanted to be sure....

Dakota Wed Apr 16, 2008 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
..but on the second time the flex comes on to bat for the dp, the dp player was done and she had to be replaced if switched again.

This is correct.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
2. catcher interference... bat hitting glove on swing, foul ball or little dribbler in play! Would it matter, wouldn't both plays get 1st base?? situation, runners on 2nd and 3rd, batter swings contacts catchers glove then:
A) foul ball, batter awarded 1st base and base runners stay on 2nd and 3rd.
B)little dribbler to pitcher, runners advanced to 3rd and home on the play, runner threw out at 1st...????????? do you award batter 1st and send runners back or award 1st and let runners get 3rd and home....i'm thinking they go back and that is what i did the other night, just wanted to be sure....

It is catcher obstruction, BTW.

Anyway, if the BR does not reach 1B safely AND all other runner advance at least one base safely, then the OC gets the choice of the play or the enforcement of obstruction. The enforcement, of that is what he chooses, would be BR on 1B and other runners only advance if forced. In your second example, the OC would have to decide which is more important - scoring the run, or BR not out on 1B.

jritchie Wed Apr 16, 2008 11:52am

Thanks


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1