The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   dropped 3rd strike question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/43427-dropped-3rd-strike-question.html)

scroobs Thu Apr 10, 2008 09:48pm

dropped 3rd strike question
 
2 out. r1 on 1st. 2-2 count on b2. dropped 3rd strike, r1 over runs 2nd base and gets tagged out for 3rd out before b-2 reaches 1st.
Does this count as an at bat by b2, or does b2 lead off in the next inning?

Dholloway1962 Thu Apr 10, 2008 09:59pm

It is a completed turn at bat. Assuming you mean B2 is the batter in the two hole then the three hole starts the next at bat.

scroobs Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:02pm

is this rule interpretation in the book anywhere?

Dholloway1962 Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:19pm

The batter became a batter-runner with the D3K Rule 8-1-B. Definition of batter-runner found in Rule 1 states batter-runner is a player who has COMPLETED a turn at bat but has not yet been put out or reached first base.

scroobs Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:21pm

got it...thanks

CecilOne Fri Apr 11, 2008 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
The batter became a batter-runner with the D3K Rule 8-1-B. Definition of batter-runner found in Rule 1 states batter-runner is a player who has COMPLETED a turn at bat but has not yet been put out or reached first base.

The " became a batter-runner " concept is important for all of us and several rules.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1