![]() |
An oldie........but still may be interesting to some.........
I know many of you have seen this before.......so refrain from answering until some of the newer guys have a chance......... <font color = red>R2 on 2nd with no outs...............large field with an open gate in right field............... Ball is hit to deep right and the speedy F9 hustles out to make the catch near the open gate............. Knowing that there is no way with the runner tagging properly she can throw in time to keep her from scoring......and knowing that a runner is only awarded 1 base on a ball carried into DBT............F9 makes the catch and then strolls through the opening in the gate.........effectively keeping R2 from scoring........ What's your call...........</font> [Edited by Gulf Coast Blue on Mar 4th, 2002 at 07:51 PM] |
I know. I know. How much time do I have to give the newbies?
Bob |
For all you good Catholic boys and girls who spent their first eight years in Parochial school...
Ooohhh! Ooohhh! S'ster, ster! I know, I know! S'ster, ster! Ooohhh! Ooohhh! Don't fret, you publics wouldn't understand. |
Quote:
|
Technical Foul????
A technical foul for the leaving the LBT intentionally to gain an advantage.... Award a free kick with lane clear....
How about B1 is out and F9 is charged with obstruction. R1 is given home as the base she could have attained had obstruction not occurred... |
Somebody shut the dam gate
Just Curious
You lost me on the obstruction part but the outcome is correct. Check out 8-6-K ASA rule Don |
Joel,
Waited as long as I could, and I may not be right anyway. In NFHS. Rule 8-4-3k, I might also consider it unsporting conduct, unless s/he one great actor... glen |
I don't know the exact rule number but in ASA and USSSA in the umpires judgement if the act was intentional award BR 2 bases.
|
In a similar vein, the ASA rule change involving a missed base or a base left too early permits a runner to return to tag up after the ball enters DBT, even if she passed the next base. I assume that is to prevent a heads-up F7 from throwing the ball to DBT and getting a leisurly dead-ball appeal.
|
Obstruction...
I admit I didn't look at the rule book... But in terms of interference.... Interference can be physical, verbal, and visual.. ie intentionally blocking the view of the defense.
Can obstruction be considered in the same way? Obstructing the progress of the runner? It wasn't a physical obstruction, but the intent of her stepping into DBT was to impede the runner's progress around the bases... Am I really reaching for something here?? |
Re: Obstruction...
Quote:
Roger Greene |
Re: Technical Foul????
Quote:
obstruction occurred on this play. :eek: and having read one's post I am sure you could not. :) glen |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02pm. |